| 9°C Dublin

Gavin's six changes for trip to Down


Shane Carthy (SPORTSFILE)

Shane Carthy (SPORTSFILE)

Shane Carthy (SPORTSFILE)

Jim Gavin has made six changes to the team that started so sluggishly against Cork last Saturday for tonight's trip to Newry to play Division 1 basement side, Down.

Stephen Cluxton returns to captain the side after Michael Savage was given a chance between the sticks last week while Mick Fitzsimons and John Small - both of whom came on at half-time against the Rebels - replace Cian O'Sullivan and Eric Lowndes.

Shane Carthy starts in place of Emmet Ó Conghaile while up front, Dean Rock comes back in and Kevin McManamon gets his first start of the League. Bernard Brogan and Paddy Andrews miss out.

Dublin's hurlers, meanwhile, are unchanged for tomorrow's trip to Walsh Park to play Waterford.

DUBLIN (SF v Down): S Cluxton; P McMahon, J Cooper, D Byrne; J McCarthy, M Fitzsimons, J Small; B Fenton, S Carthy; P Flynn, D Connolly, C Kilkenny; C Costello, K McManamon, D Rock.

DUBLIN (SH v Waterford): C Dooley; E O'Donnell, C O'Callaghan, O Gough; S Barrett, L Rushe, J McCaffrey; D O'Connell, D Plunkett; S McGrath, N McMorrow, E Dillon; D O'Callaghan, D Treacy, M Schutte.