| 8.2°C Dublin

Dubs start defence of MFC with a Wee task

THE Dublin minor footballers will open their Leinster and All-Ireland title defences against Louth next season after the draws were made for the underage inter-county provincial championships last night.

Cyril Kevlehan is expected to take on the task of retaining the minor All-Ireland after Dessie Farrell's troops bridged a 28-year gap without a national title at the grade last month.

Farrell has yet to decide whether he will take up the offer of the vacant Dublin Under-21 manager's position after Jim Gavin's promotion to the senior ranks, but should he elect to fill the void, Carlow await in their respective Leinster opener after Dublin were drawn in the first round, with Longford due to meet the winners in the quarter-final.

The Dublin minor hurlers, too, have a provincial title to defend in 2013 although they will not know their opponents until late spring/early summer due to the seeded nature of that draw.

Both Dublin and this year's beaten provincial finalists, Wexford, gained seedings as a result of their performances this season and a draw will be made after the rest of the province play off before the pairings are known.

The Dublin Under-21 hurlers, meanwhile, will avoid Kilkenny until a Leinster decider should they progress that far after they were pulled out alongside Carlow, with the winners of that tie progressing to a semi-final clash with Wexford or Westmeath.

Shay Boland - who steered the minors to consecutive All-Ireland finals - is currently considering an offer from the Dublin county board to step in to replace John Henderson as their manager.

Electric Ireland Leinster Football Minor Championship 2013

Kilkenny v Kildare, Longford v Laois, Offaly v Meath, Westmeath v Wexford, Louth v Dublin, Wicklow v Carlow.

*Loser Rounds, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals to be decided upon by Leinster CCC.

Cadbury's Leinster Under-21 Football Championship 2013

Offaly or Laois v Wicklow, Meath or Louth v Kildare, Dublin or Carlow v Longford, Westmeath v Wexford.

Electric Ireland Leinster Hurling Minor Championship 2013

Tier I: Dublin, Wexford. Tier II: Kilkenny, Carlow, Laois, Offaly. Tier III: Westmeath, Kildare, Meath, Wicklow.

Bord Gáis Energy Leinster Under-21 Hurling Championship 2013

Wexford or Westmeath v Dublin or Carlow, Laois or Offaly v Kilkenny.