| 20.9°C Dublin

Dublin SHC B: Barróg get off mark with fine win over Olaf


Naomh Barróg secured a first win in the Dublin Senior ‘B’ Hurling Championshop following their 2-11 to 0-12 victory over Naomh Olaf at Páirc Barróg last Saturday teatime.

With both teams wearing green ribbons on the night to promote the issue of mental awareness, the goals registered by Nathan Kidd and Colm Cleary proved crucial in what was a low-scoring encounter.


Much of the good work in attack was done by centre-forward Cian Gleeson with Barróg’s full-back line of Adam Rooney, Darren Flood and Stephen Deering also influential. 

In Monastery Road, an early goal from the influential Ger Dodrill helped Naomh Fionnbarra maintain their unbeaten start with a narrow 2-10 to 1-12 victory over Round Tower Clondalkin.

Dodrill struck 1-5 in total for the visitors who were indebted to a superb defensive performance from Billy Hyland, with the corner-back immense for Finbarrs.

Ryan Curley contributed 1-2 for the Cabra outfit while Dylan Owens and Karl Turner chipped in with vital scores over the hour.

Finbarrs remain in second spot in the table behind near neighbours St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh, who also enjoy four points from four after their facile 1-16 to 0-8 win over Whitehall Colmcille in Martin Savage Park.


Mick Bergin was the pick of the Plunkett’s players and he received valuable support throughout from Paddy Curtin and Paddy Bergin with Eanna Boland, Shane Bonfil and Liam Corbett also featuring prominently for the winners.

The remaining tie was similarly straight-forward as Ballyboden St Enda’s cruised to an emphatic 7-13 to 1-11 victory over Kevins in Dolphin Park.

Their win was notable for the influence that Malachy Travers exerted in their half-back line and in a free-scoring display, both Adam Jermyn and Finian McDonagh excelled for Ballyboden.      

SHC ‘B’ Group 1: St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER 1-16 Whitehall Colmcille 0-8; Round Tower Clondalkin 1-12 Naomh Fionnbarra 2-10. Group 2: Kevins 1-11 Ballyboden St Enda’s 7-13; Naomh Barróg 2-11 Naomh Olaf 0-12.