| 13.2°C Dublin

Daly recalled for Derry trip

DARREN DALY is set to make his first start of this Allianz Football League campaign after being named at wing-back on the Dublin team for tomorrow's long trek north to face Derry in Celtic Park.

Daly is recalled in place of Young Footballer of the Year Jack McCaffrey – a decision which may, in part, be explained by the proximity of Dublin's Leinster U21 semi-final against Longford next Wednesday evening.

The team doesn't have any U21s on board, while there is one other enforced change in attack as cruciate victim Ciarán Kilkenny is replaced by Ballymun's Davy Byrne. The latter came on for the stricken Kilkenny during the opening minutes of last Saturday's 10-point victory over Kildare.

Elsewhere in Division One, Mickey Harte has followed through on his furious post-match words by wielding a giant axe on the Tyrone team crushed by Kerry. All told, there are seven changes in personnel on the team to host Westmeath tomorrow.


Aidan McCrory, Ryan McKenna, Ciarán McGinley, Conan Grugan and Connor McAliskey are all recalled, having started against Kildare earlier this month, while Kyle Coney and Mark Donnelly will make their first starts of the current league campaign.

Barry Tierney, PJ Quinn, Ronan McNabb, Emmett McKenna, Ronan O'Neill and Patrick McNeice all drop to the bench while Darren McCurry is unavailable ahead of Tyrone's Ulster U21 clash with Cavan.

The Cavan seniors welcome back the fit-again Eugene Keating and Rory Dunne for their Division Three derby encounter with Longford.

On the hurling front, Kilkenny maintain their recent musical chairs selection policy with wholesale changes – including the return of an All Star cast – for tonight's Division 1A trek to face Dublin in Parnell Park.

David Herity gets the nod in goal; it's all change in the full-back line where Paul Murphy and Tomás Keogh will flank the relocated Brian Hogan at No 3; while Tommy Walsh and Joey Holden are recalled at wing-back.

Cillian Buckley and Richie Hogan relocate to form a new midfield pairing, while there are attacking recalls for Colin Fennelly, Eoin Larkin and Aidan Fogarty, with Henry Shefflin listed among the subs.

By contrast, Anthony Daly has made just one team to the Dublin team that succumbed away to Waterford: All Star Danny Sutcliffe is restored at wing-forward, Mark Schutte losing out.

Waterford must plan without Michael 'Brick' Walsh for tomorrow's visit into the Ennis den of All-Ireland champions Clare after their skipper failed to overturn last weekend's red card against the Dubs.

The Waterford centre-back had been sent off for striking with a hurley with minimal force, arising from a tussle with Alan McCrabbe.

DUBLIN (SF v Derry): S Cluxton; S George, P McMahon, M Fitzsimons; D Daly, J McCarthy, J Cooper; C O'Sullivan, MD Macauley; D Byrne (Ballymun), P Andrews, B Cullen; K McManamon, C Reddin, E O'Gara.

TYRONE (SF v Westmeath): N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, R McKenna; C Clarke, Mattie Donnelly, P Harte; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh; C McGinley, S McGuigan, C Grugan; K Coney, Mark Donnelly, C McAliskey.

CAVAN (SF v Longford): C Gilsenan; J Hayes, R Dunne, F Flanagan; M McKeever, J McEnroe, D O'Reilly; G McKiernan, K Brady; C Mackey, N McDermott, M Reilly; K Tierney, M Dunne, E Keating.

KILKENNY (SH v Dublin): D Herity; P Murphy, B Hogan, T Keogh; T Walsh, L Ryan, J Holden; R Hogan, C Buckley; W Walsh, C Fennelly, E Larkin; JJ Farrell, M Kelly, A Fogarty.

DUBLIN (SH v Kilkenny): G Maguire; N Corcoran, P Kelly, C O'Callaghan; S Durkin, L Rushe, M Carton; J Boland, J McCaffrey; C Cronin, R O'Dwyer, D Sutcliffe; D O'Callaghan, C Keaney, A McCrabbe.