| -0.1°C Dublin

Corbally penalty seals title for Moate

John Corbally's goal from a penalty proved crucial as Moate All Whites hung on to take the Leinster Club JFC title at Cusack Park on a 1-11 to 0-10 scoreline.

Moate led 0-8 to 0-3 at half-time having played with the wind. And when Corbally fired home from the spot early in the second half, it gave pre-match favourites Straffan too much to do.

Rob Kelly inspired a comeback but the goal they needed just wouldn't arrive.

A youthful Moate side went five points up within ten minutes with points from Billy Berry (two), Gavin Murray, Eoghan Dalton and Jamie Madden.

Straffan got off the mark in the 14th minute courtesy of Paul Donovan, but Nigel Adamson and John Corbally (two) added further points from the break, with Austin Allen and Kelly raising white flags in response.

Shortly after the restart, Moate full-forward Nigel Adamson was adjudged to have been fouled inside the square by Brendan Ashe, and Corbally swept the spot-kick to the net.

Dalton put Moate nine points up before Straffan launched their recovery. Points from John Hanafin, Donovan and Niall Devane cut the deficit.

Madden gave Moate breathing space before the visitors rattled off three more scores from Kelly (two) and Allen.

Straffan's hopes faded when Rory Byrne picked up a second yellow and was sent off. Corbally pointed the resulting free and Moate refused to buckle.

Bennettsbridge put down firm marker

Bennettsbridge will be strong favourites to take the All-Ireland Junior Club hurling title after a devastating performance against Shamrocks in the Leinster final.

It was a sobering experience for the Offaly champions, who had no answer for the gulf in class, losing out by 1-20 to 0-3.

Trevor Darcy opened the scoring for Shamrocks but that was their solitary score in the opening half. The Kilkenny men led by 1-10 to 0-1 at half-time and it was clear that the game was already sewn up.

Wing-forward Nicky Cleere hit six points in that opening period, while full-forward Brian Lannon notched an opportunist goal.

That one-way traffic continued after the restart, with Aidan Cleere, Darragh Wafer and William Murphy all getting on the scoresheet from long range.