| 5.3°C Dublin

Commercials and Setanta reach final

Commercials and Setanta will contest the 2014 Dublin Junior 'E' Hurling Championship Final after recording away wins over Lucan Sarsfields and Naomh Barróg respectively last Sunday afternoon.

At the 12th Lock, the visitors withstood a late rally by Lucan when claiming a deserved 3-11 to 2-11 victory.

Their challenge was boosted by an inspirational display by Oisín Mac Aodhagáin with the team captain accruing 2-4 of his side's tally from centrefield.

That the hosts were always in contention was down to the sterling efforts of Donal Flannery, Shane Donohue, Luke Philpott and Simon O'Keeffe.


However, their efforts proved in vain as Commercials goalkeeper Neil Carroll produced two superb saves and there were other strong defensive displays by Gary Walsh and Andrew Waters.

Ken Linnane scored an outrageous goal for the visitors while the work ethic of the side was reflected in the tireless efforts of John Morris.

"We were delighted with the win," said Commercials manager Fionn Mac Aodhagáin.

"We are going to keep the head down now and show the same levels of commitment as the lads have put in a huge effort this year and getting to the final is just reward for that," he added.

At Páirc Barróg, 14-man Setanta recovered from the concession of an early goal and the 10th minute dismissal of Stephen Fallon to record an impressive 4-13 to 1-11 victory over Naomh Barróg.


Ben McGinn's strike handed the hosts the dream start but the visitors gradually began to assume control of events with stand-in goalkeeper Devin Hart typifying the depth in Setanta's talent as he produced a superb display between the sticks.

Further out the field, Glenn Eribo was in sublime form for the Poppintree outfit, winning a huge amount of ball at cnetre-back before being redeployed to an even greater effect at full-back.

Brian O'Loughlin proved the scorer-in-chief for Setanta, amassing 2-6 over the hour while Dara Gavin, Michael Jenkins, Eoghan Magibb and John Hussey were others to land critical scores for the visitors.

Tom Mulryan, Alex Cosgrave, Luke Nolan, Darren Flood, Cathal Cannon, Kevin Wade and Chris Manton all made valuable contributions for Barróg but the day belonged to their opponents.