| 14.4°C Dublin

Club of the month

Thomas Davis celebrates its 125-year anniversary this year.

Club Name: Thomas Davis GAA Club

Club Colours: Green and Gold

Club Contact: Linda Walsh

Contact Email Address: Breathnach10@hotmail.com

Contact Phone Number: 087-9809242

No of members (Ladies): c. 130/140 players

No of teams (Ladies section): 8 (U9, 10, 12, 14, 18,GFM, Jnr, Snr )

Club Location: Kiltipper Road, Tallaght, D24

To celebrate the occasion, the club is holding a gala evening on Saturday and in attendance will be none other than the Sam Maguire, Bob O'Keeffe and Delaney Cups. The club are also hopeful their Ladies Team can add to the trophy collection on display as they aim to bring home the All-Ireland Ladies Intermediate Club Championship on the day of the anniversary event.

The ladies section of Thomas Davis has gone from strength-to-strength recently with the club competing in five championship finals in the last number of years. Unfortunately, Thomas Davis had to taste defeat before enjoying success and having lost two junior finals in 2012, they made it third time lucky in 2013 by winning the intermediate championship.

Meanwhile, the juvenile section continues to grow and the club won its first minor championship, narrowly defeating O' Toole's in the B final after extra time. The success of the senior ladies has led to a busy period for the team ,which has included trips all around Leinster in the last 12 months as well as a trip to London.

Dublin Division Two Winners in 2012, Thomas Davis claimed the treble that year with the Dublin Junior A Championship, the Leinster Junior Championship and the All-Ireland Junior Championship. This was followed up by success in both the Dublin and Leinster Intermediate Championships in 2013.

Inter-county representatives of Thomas Davis have been plentiful over the years and prominent on that list is Siobhan McGrath, current Dublin senior player, two time All-Star and All-Ireland winner. Other representatives include former Dublin senior footballer Christine McGinty and former Dublin minors Ciara McGuigan, Olwen Carey, Rachel Newell, Norah Kirby and Sinead Deegan.