| 16.2°C Dublin

Carr's boys to stay on course


Kilmacud Crokes v St Brigid's

(Parnell Park, Today, 5.15)

A MATCH that would do justice to the last four, or indeed the final itself.

It's a repeat of last season's final. Brigid's came into it in marvellous form.

But Kilmacud's guile, and the goals of Brian Kavanagh and Mark Vaughan, prevailed.

Kavanagh is a footballer's footballer. He'll keep showing for the ball, making the runs, even when the roof is leaking.


He's always prepared to give a colleague the option. And his industry sums up the attitude of the team.

Crokes have some big names, but they are all knitted together by the notion that nobody is bigger than the team. That has always been Paddy Carr's message.

Like the Longford Leader, Barry Cahill is another player that underlines the value of team play. Barry is never far from the pitch of the ball, and when he gets possession, he doesn't like to spill the milk.

Paddy Andrews played a telling role in the Brigid's run last term. Give him half a yard and he'll spin the wheel.

The Russell Park lads had to graft against the committed Na Fianna.

Seán Murray came off the bench to lend his composure at the back door, he'll surely start in this clash of the titans.

Alan Daly, Ken Darcy, John O'Loughlin, Mark Cahill and Lorcan McCarthy are noted Saints, while there's class in the gloves of Shane Supple. He was like a second full-back against Na Fianna as he secured any shots dropping short against the St Mobhi Road men.

Crokes also have an accomplished goalkeeper in David Nestor. Adrian Morrissey, Cian O'Sullivan, Kevin Nolan, the McGraths, the elegant Liam óg ó hEineachain and Declan Kelleher also pack the satchel with consistency and craft.

And then there's Pat Burke. How many miles has he run for the side. He's always strives to produce his personal best. They don't call him PB for nothing.

Brigid's are likely to be stronger than they were from the off against Na Fianna, with Murray and Dublin under-21 of this year, Philly Ryan, poised to start, but the Russell Park men will need Ken Darcy to cause problems for Rory O'Carroll if they are to prosper against arguably the strongest club defence in the country.

LAST YEAR -- Kilmacud Crokes: Champions. St Brigid's: Runners-up.

LAST TIME SFC WINNERS -- Kilmacud: 2010. St Brigid's: 2003.

SFC 2011 -- Kilmacud: Beat Mary's. Beat Thomas Davis. St Brigid's: Lost to Templeogue Synge St. Beat St Mark's. Beat Na Fianna.

VERDICT: Kilmacud Crokes