| 8.5°C Dublin

Brigid's extend lead at summit

GAELIC GAMES: St Brigid's stretched their lead at the top of the Dublin Adult Football League Division 1 table following a comfortable victory over O'Toole's in the Phoenix Park last night.

Conor Moran and Cathal Doyle were the pick of the home defence and despite struggling in the opening half, the league leaders pulled clear upon the restart thanks to 2-3 by Kevin Bonner and six points shared by Lorcan McCarthy and Eoin Maguire.

At Páirc Uí Mhurchú, Kenny Naughton and Mark O'Sullivan impressed as Ballyboden St Enda's and St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh played out a 0-11 to 1-8 draw, with David Matthews, Declan Lally and Garreth Smith making solid contributions for the visitors.

AFL1: Ballymun Kickhams 0-15 St Vincent's 1-14; Ballyboden St Enda's 0-11 St Oliver Plunkett's/ER 1-8; Lucan Sarsfields 0-4 St Jude's 0-13; St Sylvester's 0-16 Raheny 1-6; St Mary's Saggart 1-12 St Maur's 0-10; St Brigid's 2-13 O'Toole's 1-5; Na Fianna 2-10 Thomas Davis 3-12.

AFL2: Cuala 3-8 St Anne's 3-10; Ballinteer St John's 0-11 Round Towers Clondalkin 2-9; Erin's Isle 0-12 Kilmacud Crokes 0-12; Skerries Harps 0-11 St Patrick's Donabate 0-13; Fingal Ravens 2-17 Trinity Gaels 1-7; Nh Mearnóg 2-8 St Patrick's Palmerstown 2-7; Fingallians 2-15 St Finian's Swords 1-9; St Peregrine's 3-10 Templeogue Synge Street 3-18.



GAELIC GAMES: Kilkenny outscored Offaly 1-19 to 1-13 in their Leinster U-21 Hurling Championship semi-final at O'Connor Park last night.

The Cats prevailed thanks to their greater resources and fitness, which overpowered the home side in the closing stages. Michael Brennan's tally of 1-1 off the bench proved to be critical. Kilkenny will meet Wexford in the final after the Slaneysiders saw off Carlow on a 1-12 to 0-9 scoreline.

KILDARE defeated Longford 2-15 to 3-8 to capture the Leinster JFC title last night with Cathal Nally and Cian Bolton grabbing their goals.

THE Dublin v Kilkenny Leinster SHC semi-final replay will be broadcast live on rte.ie on Saturday evening (throw-in 7.0).


MONAGHAN (SF v Cavan): R Beggan; D Mone, D Wylie, C Walshe; V Corey, N McAdam, K Duffy; O Lennon, D Hughes; S Gollogly, P Finlay, D Clerkin; C McGuinness, K Hughes, C McManus.

LIMERICK (SF v Longford): B Scanlon; A Lane, J McCarthy, M O'Riordan; S Lavin, P Browne, P Ranahan; B O'Brien, J Galvin; J Riordan, T Lee, I Corbett; G Collins, S Buckley, E O'Connor.

ARMAGH (SF v Wicklow): P McEvoy; P McKeown, B Donaghy, J Morgan; A Kernan, C McKeever, M Shields; J Lavery, S Harold; C Rafferty, K Dyas, E Rafferty; J Clarke, T Kernan, E McVerry.



CYCLING: Team Garmin-Sharp hope to spring a surprise at the Tour de France after announcing a nine-man squad, featuring 2012 Giro d'Italia champion Ryder Hesjedal, highly fancied Irishman Dan Martin and Briton David Millar.

Canada's Hesjedal, Liege-Bastogne-Liege champion Martin and Millar – whose position as super domestique is confirmed – are joined by two-time top-10 finisher Christian Van de Velde, top-10 finisher Tom Danielson and a third American, Andrew Talansky.

Lithuania's Ramunas Navardausaks, New Zealander Jack Bauer and Rohan Dennis of Australia complete the squad.