| 14.6°C Dublin

Boost for Dessie and Mattie

Dublin club finals set for September


TIME TO PREPARE: Dublin football manager Dessie Farrell. Photo: SPORTSFILE

TIME TO PREPARE: Dublin football manager Dessie Farrell. Photo: SPORTSFILE

TIME TO PREPARE: Dublin football manager Dessie Farrell. Photo: SPORTSFILE

The Dublin senior hurling and football finals will be played on the weekends of September 12th/13th and September 19th/20th respectively, avoiding significant overlap with the beginning of the revamped inter-county schedule.

Management committee of the Dublin county board met on Wednesday evening to ratify their programme of club championship fixtures for 2020, which will see the structure of both the premier hurling and football competitions remain in their intended formats. They will be run off based on the original draws.

The agreed format provides at least three championship games for clubs, while the relatively early completion dates will come as a boost for both Dessie Farrell and Mattie Kenny.

Inter-county panels are prohibited from training collectively until September 14th. However, county boards were granted the facility to play their club competitions up until October 11th, just six days before inter-county competitions will resume.

The Dublin SFC final is fixed to take place the weekend after the inter-county squads are cleared for return. In the circumstances however, Farrell might consider that a minor disruption.

Both the SFC and SHC will be played on a round-robin basis, with two from each group qualifying for the quarter-finals.

The Dublin senior hurling championship will start over the weekend of the 18th and 19th of July with the first round of group fixtures.

The opening tranche of football fixtures will take place over the following weekend, with games then played on alternate weekends.

Croke Park officials were set to reveal the details of this year's reworked inter-county programme on Friday.

The Dublin footballers will likely play their postponed Division 1 fixture with Meath on the weekend of October 17th/18th.

It is expected that only the final round games necessary for promotion and relegation will be played the following weekend, with no League final, meaning Dublin's meeting with Galway will not take place.

The senior inter-county championships are expected then to commence on Halloween weekend and run until the weekend before Christmas.

The Dublin hurlers have already completed their League programme are now likely to begin their Leinster SHC bid on October 31st/November 1st.

Wexford and Kilkenny - last year's Leinster finalists - are expected be given a bye into the Leinster semi-finals, slated for November 7th/8th.

With a packed nine weeks of club action, Dublin are likely to investigate the viability of live streaming some of their championship games.

The expected lifting of restrictions of public gatherings of up to 500 people from July 20th will allow crowds at selected venues but many of the bigger counties are exploring the potential to generate revenue from screening their club matches online.

Some have already received offers of interest from companies to set up the service, although at least some of the Dublin club action is likely to be shown on either TG4 or RTÉ.

Under the current rights agreement, TG4 reserve the first two GAA picks of any weekend.

County boards receive a payment of €5,000 for a live match and €2,500 for deferred coverage. Last year, eight Dublin club matches were screen live.

In the past, county boards have turned down the offer of live coverage in order to preserve attendances.

Given the continued limitations on gatherings, they are unlikely to decline the offer this year.

Dublin may be restricted in their ability to stream, however, given all of their matches will be played on weekends. GAA policy prohibits live-streamed games at the same time as those being broadcast by the rights-holders.




Group 1: Thomas Davis, Round Tower Lusk, Ballymun Kickhams, Skerries Harps

Group 2: St Jude's, Na Fianna, Lucan Sarsfields, Ballinteer St John's

Group 3: Ballyboden St Enda's, Clontarf, Whitehall Colmcille, St Vincent's

Group 4: Kilmacud Crokes, Raheny, Castleknock, St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh


Group 1: St Peregrine's, Fingallians, Ballyboughal, Templeogue Synge Street

Group 2: Nh Olaf, Parnell's, St Mary's Saggart, Cuala

Group 3: Nh Mearnóg, St Maur's, Fingal Ravens, St Brigid's

Group 4: St Anne's, Erin's Isle, St Sylvester's, Trinity Gaels


Group 1: St Vincent's, St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh, Lucan Sarsfields, Ballinteer St John's

Group 2: Craobh Chiaráin, Scoil Uí Chonaill, Kilmacud Crokes, Ballyboden St Enda's

Group 3: St Brigid's, Whitehall Colmcille, Faughs, St Jude's

Group 4: Cuala, Thomas Davis, Na Fianna, Setanta


Group 1: Castleknock, Nh Barróg, Round Tower Clondalkin, O'Toole's, Cuala, Crumlin

Group 2: Na Fianna, Nh Fionnbarra, Ballyboden St Enda's, Kilmacud Crokes, Clontarf, Raheny