| 0°C Dublin

Boland goal the key for Plunkett's

St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh produced a spirited performance as they accounted for Faughs by 1-12 to 0-11 in their Dublin Under 21 'B' Hurling Championship semi-final at Martin Savage Park last Saturday afternoon.

The hosts started in the ascendancy but after being reduced to 14 men after 20 minutes, they battled gamely to eventually claim their final berth by four points.

"It is great for us to be in a hurling final," said Plunkett's manager Terry O'Brien.

"It wasn't ideal having a player sent off early on, especially as we were on top at the time but we battled it out after that and we can look forward to playing in a final," he added.

Central to their victory was the 45th-minute goal of Cian Boland with the Dublin Under 21 star contributing crucial scores throughout for the hosts.

Of equal significance was the performance of corner-forward Mikey Walsh who drifted intelligently between the lines while the work-rate of midfielder Eoin Whelan helped drive Plunkett's to the lead.

In defence, both full-back Matthew McCabe and centre-back Luke O'Doherty excelled in the central position and substitute Ciarán Shannon can feel justifiably pleased with his contribution when introduced.

The Navan Road club will face either Whitehall Colmcille or Round Tower Clondalkin in the decider after the aforementioned teams came through their respective quarter-finals against St Sylvester's and St Peregrine's.

In Clondalkin, Eric Finn was in superb form as Tower's proved far too strong for a weakened St Peregrine's, prevailing by 6-9 to 0-6.

Finn proved a nuisance for the away defence throughout both in creating and taking chances as the hosts dominated through their midfield pairing of Adam Doyle and Alex Darby.

Seán Coady, Craig Melvin, Joseph Morris, Andy Larkin and Mark Sweeney all impressed for St Peregrine's but they couldn't find a way past a home defence well-marshalled by Gary Quinlavin, Jack Whelan and Wayne Brennan.

In Cloghran, Eoghan O'Donnell proved Whitehall's scorer-in-chief as they overcame St Sylvester's by 4-15 to 0-14 with Cormac Ryan, Darren Greene and Niall O'Donnell to the fore for the winners.

U21 'B' HC: St Oliver Plunkett's/ER 1-12 Faughs 0-11; Whitehall Colmcille 4-15 St Sylvester's 0-14; Round Tower Clondalkin 6-9 St Peregrine's 0-6.