| 4°C Dublin

Bates breaks Craobh challenge

Ballyboden St Enda's captured the minor football 'E' championship title after a deserved 1-11 to 0-7 win over a brave Craobh Chiaráin side at Clonshaugh, writes Diarmuid Geraghty.

Despite the fact the winners led for the entirety of the 60 minutes, the game was still finely balanced entering the last 10 minutes before a brilliant team move resulted in Cian Bates finding the back of the net, which all but secured the win.

Boden led by three at the interval, 0-7 to 0-4.

Their flying wing-backs Gavin Quirke and Alex Murphy drove them forward at every opportunity, with the former helping himself to a brace of points. Forwards Daire Walsh and James Roche also excelled in the opening period.

But Craobh, with Philly Flanagan in excellent free-taking form, proved a tough proposition and boasted stellar performers of their own in the shape of Ryan McGuirk and Warren O'Neill.

The Firhouse Road men, though, were able to grab scores at vital times and with their man of the match Ryan Gillen driving them forward at every opportunity from midfield, the stage was set for Bates to perform his goal-scoring heroics.