| 0.3°C Dublin

Basquel does the trick for St Enda's


HAT-TRICK: Colm Basquel. Pic: Sportsfile

HAT-TRICK: Colm Basquel. Pic: Sportsfile

HAT-TRICK: Colm Basquel. Pic: Sportsfile

Colm Basquel was Ballyboden St Enda's hat-trick hero as the 2016 All-Ireland winners eventually edged out Na Fianna in extra-time of Saturday night's pulsating Dublin SFC1 quarter-final at Parnell Park.

The sides were deadlocked at 1-14 apiece after a thrilling hour's entertainment but Boden controlled extra-time as Basquel's two goals helped seal their place in the last four.

Na Fianna enjoyed an 0-8 to 0-6 interval lead with Conor McHugh kicking three excellent points from play with Ryan Basquel and Ross McGarry scores keeping St Enda's in touch.

The tightness of the exchanges continued after the break but Na Fianna looked to have landed a decisive blow as Killian Deeley fired home past Darragh Gogan at his near post in the 52nd minute to leave Dessie Farrell's men four points to the good.

However, a clinically taken goal from Colm Basquel in the 57th minute prompted a frantic conclusion to normal time that saw McHugh harshly dismissed for a second booking after an altercation with Declan O'Mahony while Gogan showed nerves of steel in converting a late '45' to keep Boden's chances alive.

SCORERS - Ballyboden St Enda's: C Basquel 3-4 (0-1f), R Basquel 0-5 (0-2f), R McGarry 0-3, D Gogan (0-1 '45'), D O'Mahony ,C Keaney 0-1 each. Na Fianna: C McHugh 0-6 (0-1f), A Byrne 0-5 (0-1f, 0-1 '45'), K Deeley 1-0, J Doran 0-3, N McGovern 0-1.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA'S: D Gogan; K Kennedy, S Clayton, C Flaherty; D Nelson, R McDaid, S Gibbons; A Waters, D O'Mahony; MD Macauley, C Basquel, D O'Reilly; R McGarry, R Basquel, W Egan. Subs: C Keaney for Egan (42), A Flood for Gibbons (43), B Bobbett for Macauley (47), D McCabe for O'Reilly (55), T Hayes for McGarry (56); (Extra-time) Macauley for O'Mahony (60), J Holland for Waters for (60), O'Reilly for Keaney (69).

NA FIANNA: D O'Hanlon; E O'Dea, J Cooper, E Mullen; N McGovern, E Murchan, N Cooper; J Lawless, K Deeley; J Doran, D Quinn, G O'Reilly; A Byrne, C McHugh, B O'Leary. Subs: D Kennedy for N Cooper (37), Donal Ryan for Lawless (41), P Quinn for Quinn (50); S Caffrey for O'Dea (60), D Lacey for McHugh (60), A Fitzgerald for Deeley (70).

REF: B Tiernan (O'Dwyer's).