| 11.8°C Dublin

Bannigan takes over in Kilmacud hot-seat

GABRIEL BANNIGAN has been confirmed as the new manager of Kilmacud Crokes senior football team with immediate effect.

The Monaghan native has plenty of experience of the club scene in the capital having managed St Sylvester's senior footballers between 2009 and 2013 before taking a break from the game earlier this year.

Despite not making that elusive breakthrough at senior championship level, Bannigan guided the Malahide club to a historic first Dublin AFL1 title in 2010 and pushed eventual All-Ireland champions St Vincent's to a single point in the 2013 Dublin SFC.

He replaces Conor Deegan, who stepped down after a dissapointing time at the helm that saw Kilmacud exit the SFC in the first round to St Oliver Plunkett's/Eoghan Ruadh before they succumbed to UCD in the 'B' equivalent last Friday evening.

Chairman of the Crokes Football Committee, Seán Fox, is delighted with Bannigan's arrival at the Stillorgan club and he looks forward to working together as they look to regain their position of prominence within the county.

"Gabriel has wonderful experience, knowledge and enthusiasm for football and his arrival at the club is a huge boost for Crokes," said Fox.

AUSTRALIA look like they mean business for next month's International Rules Test against Ireland in Perth after including nine All Australians in their 24-man squad.

"It is a unbelievably talented squad which has achieved a lot in AFL football," said Australia's assistant Ross Lyon. "The selection criteria, the capacity that we looked for was great running power and an ability to adapt quickly to the round ball. There's numerous players who have played in the series before," he added.

AUSTRALIA (International Rules squad): Grant Birchall, Travis Boak, Luke Breust, Patrick Dangerfield, Dustin Fletcher, Nat Fyfe, Brendon Goddard, Robbie Gray, Brent Harvey, Luke Hodge, Kieren Jack, Steve Johnson, Jarrad McVeigh, Sam Mitchell, Leigh Montagna, Nic Naitanui, Nick Riewoldt, Tom Rockliff, Joel Selwood, Brodie Smith, Nick Smith, Harry Taylor, Jobe Watson, Chad Wingard.