| 6.4°C Dublin

Dundalk to top poll in writers' awards


Stephen Kenny

Stephen Kenny

Stephen Kenny

DUNDALK'S success in 2014 has been recognised as the Premier Division title winners have three members of their league-winning panel short-listed for the Airtricity Soccer Writers Association of Ireland personality of the year award.

Manager Stephen Kenny (above), midfield talisman Richie Towell and leading scorer Pat Hoban have all made it onto the six-man shortlist for the prestigious award, which has been running since 1961.

Dundalk could pick up even more honours as Peter Cherrie, an ever-present in goal in their league win, has been included as one of the three nominees for goalkeeper of the year.

St Patrick's Athletic, FAI Cup winners in 2014, have also been honoured. Manager Liam Buckley and striker Chris Fagan - who was joint-top scorer in the league alongside Dundalk man Hoban, have also been nominated for the personality of the year award along with Cork City boss John Caulfield.

Mark McNulty (Cork) and Brendan Clarke (Pats) join Cherrie on the three-man shortlist for the goalkeeper award which was won by Clarke last year.

Dundalk have of course lost striker Hoban since the end of last season as the Galway native moved to Oxford United and the club are still in talks with Towell about a new deal even though the Tallaght man has offers in England.

Meanwhile, Gillingham boss Peter Taylor is very pleased to have former Ireland U21 cap John Egan on board.

Defender Egan has scored three goals in his last two games for the League One side who are now within sight of a Wembley appearance in the Johnstone's Paint Trophy, Egan on target in last week's win over Orient.

"We knew we wanted him and of course we were just praying that he wanted us. Thankfully for us, he came here to play football and that's exactly what has happened, so we are all happy," says Taylor.