| 15.9°C Dublin

Captain O'Connor returns


Diarmuid O'Connor

Diarmuid O'Connor

Diarmuid O'Connor

James Horan has announced three changes to his Mayo team for Saturday's Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon in Elverys MacHale Park (7pm).

Former All-Star Chris Barrett and Michael Plunkett are included in defence while skipper Diarmuid O'Connor, who missed their cakewalk win in New York with a facial injury, is restored at wing-forward.

The trio missing out are Colm Boyle, James McCormack and James Carr.

For Ballintubber's Plunkett it will be a first championship start, having come off the bench in Gaelic Park.

But there's still no sign of his clubmate, former Mayo captain Cillian O'Connor, who has yet to make his competitive comback following knee surgery last December.

Keith Higgins, who made his SFC debut against Roscommon back in 2005, will be playing his 155th game for the senior footballers as Mayo go chasing a first Connacht final appearance since 2015. Galway await in the June 16 decider.

Roscommon have named an unchanged team. Manager Anthony Cunningham has gone with the 15 starters who beat Leitrim in the first round for this second clash in the 2019 Championship of Division One teams.

MAYO (SFC v Roscommon): R Hennelly; C Barrett, B Harrison, K Higgins; P Durcan, M Plunkett, L Keegan; M Ruane, A O'Shea; F Boland, J Doherty, D O'Connor (capt); E Regan, D Coen, K McLoughlin.

ROSCOMMON: D O'Malley; D Murray, S Mullooly, C Daly; N Daly, C Hussey, R Daly; T O'Rourke, S Killoran; H Darcy, C Cregg, N Kilroy; U Harney, C Cox, D Murtagh