| 15.4°C Dublin

Brown keeps up her winning streak

Molly Brown of Castleknock Community College continued her unbroken streak when she won the 2nd/3rd year girls' 2.8km at the opening round of the Leinster Schools Orienteering League at Corkagh Park, Clondalkin.

Brown, who is the current Irish champion and remained unbeaten all last season, finished six minutes clear of the field.

Arianna Harris in the 5th/6th year girls' 3.1km and Ross Crowe in the 2nd/3rd year boys' 3.5km, both from Wilson's Hospital, Multyfarnham, prevented Castleknock from making it a clean sweep in all categories.

In the transition year girls' 3km, Aoife Donaghy of St Dominic's Cabra, a school that's new to orienteering, did well to finish second behind Aoife Simm of Castleknock. Best of a large group from Dundalk Grammar were Zak Coen and Oisín Matthews, third 2nd/3rd year boys.


Boys - 5th/6th Yr 4.3km: 1 LKearney (Castleknock CC) 22:42; 2 A Crowe (Wilson's Hospital) 26:55; 3 A Kelly (St Kilian's Bray) 27:18.  TY 4.2km:  1 PO'Neill (Castleknock CC) 33:33; 2 E Hollidge (Wilson's Hospital) 36:29; 3 P O Ceallaigh/R McLoughlin (Castleknock CC) 40:24.  2nd/3rd Yr 3.5km:1 R Crowe (Wilson's Hospital) 25:04; 2 B O'Neill (Castleknock CC) 25:27; 3 Z Coen/O Matthews (Dundalk Grammar) 26:12.  1st Yr 2.9km:1 D Botnahiu/N Harrington (Castleknock CC) 50:52. 

Girls - 5th/6th Yr 3.1km:1 A Harris (Wilson's Hospital) 21:21; 2 J O'Neill (Wilson's Hospital) 31:28; 3 C Murphy (St Kilian's Bray) 33:52.  TY 3.0km: 1 A Simm (Castleknock CC) 22:55; 2 A Donaghy (St Dominic's Cabra) 24:54; 3 N Cooney/S McIntosh (Castleknock CC) 27:53.  2nd/3rd Yr 2.8km:1 M Brown 16:53; 2 R Armstrong 23:26; 3 A McGuinness 24:01 (all Castleknock CC).  1st Yr 2.0km: 1 S Brown/N Sheridan 15:28; 2 C Allen/C Hogan 18:04; 3 S Rafferty/S Roche 19:31 (all Castleknock CC).