| 5.8°C Dublin

Boyne advance to Morton final

Boyne Rovers 4

Castleknock Celtic 0

Boyne Rovers booked a date with Cabinteely in the under 19 Morton Cup final with an emphatic 4-0 victory over Castleknock Celtic in Drogheda yesterday.

The victory will at least have cheered up some of the Boyneside locals after Drogheda's drubbing in the Setanta Cup final the previous day.

The first half though was tightly contested and Boyne 'keeper Cathal Costello was kept busy.

Boyne went in a goal to the good however. Eoin O'Dwyer did well to fist away a cross but Ross Reid was waiting to power an unstoppable volley to the net, giving O'Dwyer no chance.


Seven minutes into the second half the excellent Shane Brady doubled the lead. Cutting in from the wing, Brady skipped past a tackle before driving to the net from the edge of the box.

'Knock pressed forward but were getting little change from a strong Rovers rearguard and when they struck a third on 77 minutes, the final dream was over for Celtic.

Almost a replica of his first goal, Brady skipped in from the wing leading the defence a merry dance before slotting past O'Dwyer again.

Substitute Colm Goring put a ribbon on it with five remaining when he rounded off an excellent move by tapping home to make it 4-0.

So Cabinteely meet Boyne in what should be a really decent renewal of The Morton cup decider.

They caused a bit of a shock, overcoming Dunboyne 4-3 after extra-time and will no doubt be geared up for another battle in the final.

Boyne Rovers: Cathal Costello, Gerard Bermingham, Danny Battersby, Ryan Connor, James Guinn, Ronan Hoey, Dean Kirwan, Shane Brady, Ryan Carberry, Ross Reid, Eoin Leech. Subs: Colm Goring, Gary Thompson, Ryan Halton, Jamie McEvoy, Luke Haggans,

Castleknock Celtic: Eoin O'Dwyer, Conor Murphy, Mike Kiely, Aidan Black, Daniel Walsh, Adam Noonan, Killian Creamer, Conor O'Dwyer, Robert Kelly, Sean Zambra, Yusuf Shushan. Subs: Josh Murray, Shane Ryan, Sean Ryan.

Referee: Charlie Pierce.