rise and fall of anglo

1964: Anglo Irish Bank established in Dublin.

2005: Chief Executive Sean FitzPatrick steps down to assume the role of chairman. David Drumm replaces him.

2007: Anglo is held up as an example with a value of more than €10bn and annual profits of €1.2bn.

December 2008: FitzPatrick, and Drumm resign. Government injects €1.5bn, effectively nationalising it. January 19, 2009: Board of Directors resign.

March 18, 2010: Sean FitzPatrick is arrested.

March 31, 2010: Anglo posts the largest loss in Irish corporate history: €12.7bn.

April 20, 2011: Anglo Irish Bank signage removed from all the Bank's buildings across the world.

September 30, 2010: Government announces Anglo Irish bailout will cost at least €29.3bn.

October 14, 2011: Anglo Irish Bank officially changed its name to Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Limited.

February 6, 2013: 13.00 Speculation mounts that emergency legislation is likely to be heard in the Dail later for reasons unknown.

16.30 Reports that a deal is imminent on the promissory note. Reuters reports that IBRC is to be liquidated and loans transferred to NAMA.

18.00 Government plans to liquidate IBRC as part of changes to replace the promissory note with a new financing arrangement.

19.00 Potential deal is stymied by the European Central Bank.

19.10 Chairman of the IBRC board Alan Dukes says the board has been liquidated and the functions are being taken over by KPMG.

20.00 Meeting of the Economic Management Council.

20.46 President Higgins leaves Rome, where he is on a State visit, for Dublin to make himself available to sign any new legislation.

21.00 Cabinet meets to consider law liquidating IBRC.

21.15 Dail votes to sit late.

22.30 The IBRC Bill 2012 is given to TDs via their pigeon holes in Leinster house.

23.02 Dail resumes then adjourns to allow deputies time to read the Bill.

00.00 Dail reconvenes and Michael Noonan addresses the house.

0.59am The Taoiseach addresses the Dail.

2.57 The IBRC Act 2013 is voted through the Committee stage by 113 votes to 35 with 17 absentees or abstentions and sent to the Seanad.

5.55 The Seanad passes the Bill by 38 votes to 6.

6.55 President Higgins signs the Bill into law, meaning that Anglo Irish Bank is no more.