| 17.6°C Dublin

New faces on councils replace TDs

THESE are some of the city's new councillors who will be taking the places of successful General Election candidates.

Some 17 councillors across Dublin city and county are being co-opted on to the capital's local authorities to fill the shoes of recently elected TDs.

Dublin City Council has seen the biggest upheaval, with nine new councillors.

Among them is 26-year-old Clontarf woman Jane Horgan-Jones, who is taking over from Aodhan O'Riordain in Dublin North Central.

Ms Horgan-Jones, a Labour Youth activist and trained barrister, became involved with the party while a student at UCD.

She admitted she was a "little daunted" by the prospect of taking her place on the council but it was "very exciting and a huge opportunity" for her.

Ms Horgan-Jones said the party had been active in anti-head shops, save the bus routes in Marino and flooding campaigns.

Another replacement councillor is father-of-two Brian McDowell from Donaghmede who is being co-opted onto Sean Kenny's Labour seat. Ex-councillor Paddy McCartan (FG) will be taking over from Eoghan Murphy in Dublin South East, having lost his council seat to the newly elected TD at the 2009 local elections.

Mr McCartan will be joined in the constituency by Gerry Ashe, who is taking over from Kevin Humphreys.

Ms Ashe, the party's constituency council chairwoman, is the elder sister of Labour councillor Dermot Lacey. Mr Lacey told the Herald he believed it would be the first time a brother and sister had sat on the council at the same time.

On South Dublin County Council, Emer Higgins (FG) will replace Derek Keating, while her party colleague Patricia Stewart will be taking over Mary Mitchell O'Connor's Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown County Council seat.

Sinn Fein's Maire Devine will be taking over from Sean Crowe on SDCC and Anthony Connaughton, also SF, will take up Dessie Ellis' seat on DCC.