| 12.6°C Dublin

Lenihan appoints adviser to Bank

FINANCE Minister Brian Lenihan (right) has appointed his special adviser as a member of the Central Bank Commission, just before leaving Office.

The Central Bank Commission is made up of four ex-offico members and between six to eight members appointed by the Finance Minister.

Dr Alan Ahearne acted as adviser to the Finance Minister from 2009 and provided key counsel on economics, budgetary and financial policy. He previously lectured in economics at the NUI, Galway and also acted as senior economist at the Federal Reserve Board in Washington for seven years.

Dr Ahearne joins Prof John Fitzgerald, Max Watson, Michael Soden, Des Geraghty and Prof Blanaid Clarke on the commission that replaces the former Central Bank board and will serve for four years.