| 16.1°C Dublin

Dub Stars 2011 are launched

THE 2011 Herald/Dublin Bus Dub Stars awards have been launched.

The Dublin All Stars awards honour the best club hurlers and footballers in the county in the year both codes brought silverware back to the capital

Dublin hurling star Liam Rushe and All-Ireland hero Rory O'Carroll were on hand to launch this year's awards along with Herald editor Stephen Rae, and Dawn Bailey of Dublin Bus.

Ballyboden St Enda's achieved a stunning five-in-a-row this year and have been rewarded with 13 nominations for the Dub Stars hurling team which are revealed in the Herald's Dublin GAA supplement today.

The O'Tooles team who finished runners-up received 10 nominations while St Brigid's had a season to remember and have been rewarded with seven nominations.

The Dubs Stars hurling team and subs will be announced on Tuesday, November 22.

The nominations for the Dubs Stars football team will be announced next Tuesday, November 15, while the football team and subs will be published on Tuesday, November 29.

Both sides will then take on Dublin on New Year's Day in a huge double-bill at Thomas Davis GAA club.

The awards will be announced at a gala lunch at the Westin Hotel on Friday, December 16.