| 16.2°C Dublin

Boylan and McDowell among the well-known faces elected to Seanad


Former Sinn Fein MEP Lynn Boylan has a seat in the Seanad

Former Sinn Fein MEP Lynn Boylan has a seat in the Seanad

Former Sinn Fein MEP Lynn Boylan has a seat in the Seanad

Former Sinn Fein MEP Lynn Boylan, ex-tanaiste Michael McDowell and veteran senator David Norris have all been elected to the Seanad.

They are among a string of familiar faces, including failed Dail candidates, who were elected on day three of the marathon election count.

With more than a third of the Upper House's 60 seats filled last night, Fianna Fail had ten senators elected, just ahead of Fine Gael's eight.

Four Independents have been elected, along with two Sinn Fein politicians, and one senator each for the Greens and Labour.

Counts where social distancing due to coronavirus was being practised continued in three centres yesterday to fill the 49 seats across the Seanad's five vocational panels and two university constituencies.

Eleven further seats will be allocated by the next Taoiseach once a government is formed.


Former Dublin MEP Ms Boylan - who lost her European Parliament seat last year - was among politicians from the capital to be elected yesterday.

The ecologist was elected to the Agriculture Panel.

Sinn Fein senator Maire Devine - who was previously suspended by her party for three months over a social media controversy - lost her seat on the Labour Panel.

Independent senator and anti-abortion campaigner Ronan Mullen topped the poll in the National University of Ireland constituency and was elected.

Former tanaiste and justice minister Mr McDowell was elected on the 10th count.

There was a battle for the third seat between outgoing Independent senator Mary Alice Higgins - the daughter of President Michael D Higgins - and former Dublin West Solidarity TD Ruth Coppinger.

Trinity College voters returned gay rights activist and former presidential candidate Mr Norris to the seat he has held since 1987.

Labour's Ivana Bacik and Independent candidate Lynn Ruane were well-placed to hang on to their Seanad seats.

Elsewhere, counting finished for the Agriculture Panel and continued for the Labour Panel late last night.

They are among the five panels where councillors make up the bulk of the electorate.

Fine Gael junior minister Michael D'Arcy and former Fianna Fail TD Eugene Murphy - who lost Dail seats in February - both won election to the Agriculture Panel.