McDwyer fire burns Marino

Colmcille's forward shoots 1-8 in Herald triumph

Niall Scully and Diarmuid Geraghty

SCOIL MHUIRE, MARINO have many fond memories of the Cumann na mBunscol. They were the first winners of the crown back in 1938 and yesterday in Croker's Field of Dreams they were attempting to win their third Corn Herald in a row.

They had a link to a previous win. Andrew Gilroy's dad, Dublin senior football manager, Pat, brought glory to the school in days gone by.

But ST COLMCILLE'S didn't read the script. Their flying wing forward Luke McDwyer stole the show with 1-8. But it was a real team effort. Conor O'Donoghue, Christian Tshibangu and the Basquels, Luke and Jack, did their school proud in a famous win.

There was also some great performances in the Sciath Uí Néill. SCOIL SANTAIN, TALLAGHT battled their way to the trophy. Daire Ó Maolcathail hit 3-1 and there was nothing getting past full-back Caoimhe Ní Cuaig.

But SCOIL MHUIRE, WOODVIEW can hold their heads high. A goal from Seán O'Reilly gave them hope, but it wasn't to be their day.

The skill of Sinéad Ní Dhonnchú and Rachel Ní hAirtneada set SCOIL LORCáIN, MONKSTOWN on their way in the Corn Nurí. They had to withstand a powerful effort from NH OLAF in the second half however, as Aoife Maher and Ciara Murphy refused to throw in the towel.

It was double delight for St Pius X of Terenure. The boys set the ball rolling with a win over Naomh Olaf in the Sciath Marino. Captain Eoin O'Donovan led from the front with his deputies Eoghan Moore, Ryan Keane, Sam Slattery and Jacques Dalton all catching the eye.

The girls had their fair share of stars as well.

Goals from Isabelle Costello, Emma Fay and Holly Finnegan helped them to a narrow win over Bishop Galvin NS, Templeogue, for whom Aisling Keyes and Ciara O'Riordan played their hearts out. Maybe it will be Mayo for Sam in 2012. The finals rekindled golden memories for the Connacht county.

St Brigid's, Castleknock won a thrilling Marino final. Scoring a point for them was Tiernan Gilvarry, a grandson of Joe Gilvarry, who played on the last Mayo team that won the All-Ireland Football title in 1950 and 1951.

Also helping Brigid's to success was Matt Barr, son of the Dublin legend, Keith. The Castleknock captain, David Hawkshaw, had the game of his life on the biggest stage.

The Brigid's boys had to defend with gusto. They didn't lack heroes at the back of the house - Tom Hegarty among them.

Mary's of Lucan played some smashing stuff. Ben Coffey was a jewel at midfield. Dublin hurler, Johnny McCaffrey, was among their management.

The tempo of the game, and the quality of the scoring, made it a real showstopper. Lucan didn't deserve to lose by six points.

The Cabra Colts, Gaelscoil Bharra, hit six scores in total, and that was enough to see them dancing all the way back to The Bogies with the Olly Quinlan prize.

It was the first time in 16 years that they had tasted Croke Park success. "We lost three finals here, all by a point. This victory is a great credit to all the wonderful work that is going on in the area," summed up mentor, Seán ó Donaile.

Doireann Ní Bhroin-Riain drilled in a hat-trick of goals against their Tallaght opponents who had aces in Orlagh McGuigan and Georgia Plowman, who was so dangerous in and around the kitchen during the second half.


Ringsend also saluted camogie glory as St Patrick's returned to the coast with the Sciath Nua. Amy Doyle and Lorna Bolton struck the crucial goals in a terrific tussle against the Firhouse Fliers, Holy Rosary.

Another Firhouse side, Scoil Treasa, enjoyed better fortune in the Sciath Aghais against the Shankill stars who showed so much spirit. Two goals from Aaron McGrath and one each from Ryan O'Neill, Simon Sweeney and Mauro Segovia proved vital.

Niall Comerford was outstanding for Aine in a match where both sides gave a brilliant exhibition of hurling in front of the Hill. Someday, they might return as Dubs.