Heisterkamp hat-trick Kil's off Hospital claim

Gavin Earley


ST KILIAN'S DSD finally made it over the line to success with a 4-0 victory over Wilson's Hospital School in last week's FAI Schools Leinster Minor Girls League Division Two final.

Anna Heisterkamp stole the show with a hat-trick at Leixlip Amenity Centre, as Kilian's put some bad luck in the latter stages of competitions behind them in style.

The same side were beaten in the Leinster Cup semi-final by St MacDara's, while the junior side were beaten in the semi-finals of their cup by Alexandra College and the quarter-finals of their league competition by Balbriggan.

The senior side were also beaten at the semi-final stage of their league competition, by Tullamore, and manager Allister Harvey admits the school has not had the best of luck in knockout games.

"To put it in perspective, in the last three or four years, we have been beaten in at least seven semi-finals and throw in a few quarters-finals," said the Kilian's boss.

"That under-15 side that won this final would have a lot of players involved in the junior and senior teams, so some of them have lost most of those semi-finals.

"It is just great for the players to get a trophy after so many disappointments."

Kilian's led 2-0 at half-time in Leixlip last week, after Heisterkamp gave them the perfect start inside three minutes.

The striker arrived late at the back post to finish Eve O'Leary's cross from the left to open the scoring.

By the 15th-minute mark it was two, Vezma Pepping firing home from close range after a goal-mouth scramble.

Despite the comfortable lead, Kilian's missed chance after chance until 10 minutes from the end, but finally wrapped up the win as Heisterkamp slotted home.

In the final minutes, the same player added gloss to the scoreline by completing her hat-trick.

ST KILIAN'S DSD: Ellen Nolan; Beatrice Scherianz, Katy Mullen, Reanna Rowan, Leah Cullen, Reanan O'Connor, Cara Jungenn, Nena Heisterkamp, Anna Heisterkamp, Eve O'Leary, Vezma Pepping. Subs: Cianne Cunningham, Emer Clifnon, Noemie Derhy, Aine Fellenz, Sara Temboruy.