Top class: Kenyan Esther Wanjiru Macharia celebrates winning the women's race at the 2014 Dublin Marathon as Maria McCambridge of Dundrum South Dublin AC, left, comes up to the finish line in second on Merrion Square.

All pics: Sportsfile

Defending champion Maria McCambridge lost out by just four seconds to Kenyan Esther Wanjiru Macharia in yesterday's Dublin Marathon.

McCambridge ran a super race, in very humid and windy conditions, but just couldn't catch Macharia on the final strait.

"I laid it all on the line," siad the Dubliner.

"I'm gutted but it's a happy gutted."

Kenyan Eliud Too was a surprise winner of the overall title with a time of 2:14:47.

Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers won the Irish National Championship, with McCambridge of course retaining her national title.

Both received free electricity for a year from race sponsors SSE Airtricity.

Naas man Patrick Monahan (left) set a new Wheelchair course record for Dublin, finishing in a very fast time of 01:52:43.

Dublin Marathon Podiums


1. Eliud Too (Kenya) 02:14:47

2. Paul Keoch Kimutai (Kenya) 02:14:56

3. Dmitry Safronov (Russia) 02:15:12

Irish National Championships Men

1.Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) 2:21:01

2.Barry Minnock (Rathfarnham) 2:22:42

3.Thomas Cornthwaite (Rathfarnham) 2:24:13


1. Esther Wanjiru Macharia - Kenya - 02:34:15

2. Maria McCambridge - Ireland - 02:34:19

3. Meseret Godana - Ethopia - 02:38:54

Irish National Championships Women

1. Maria McCambridge - DSD - 02:34:19

2. Pauline Curley - Tullamore - 2:48:04

3. Ailish Malone - Clonliffe Harriers 2:48:50


1. Patrick Monahan - Ireland - 01:52:43

2. Paul Hannan - Ireland - 02.05.56

3. Luke Jones - Wales - 02.09.33