Former Tipp boss Evans added to Royal ticket

FORMER Tipperary football manager John Evans has been added to Seamus McEnaney’s Meath management team.

The Kerry native – who stepped down as Premier County supremo earlier this year after a disappointing start to their Allianz League campaign – has agreed to come on board in a coaching capacity ahead of their Leinster SFC opener with Wicklow on May 27.

Evans led Tipperary to successive promotions in 2008 and ’09 and managed the county to a Munster U21 title back in 2010. In addition, it has also been confirmed that Peadar Byrne has been recalled to the Royals’ setup while Shane O’Rourke has been touted for an earlier return from injury than was initially expected.

GRAHAM CANTY is back on the Cork team for Sunday's NFL Division One final against - in a move that sees Eoin Cadogan now placed at corner-back.

MATTHEW CLANCY, an All-Ireland winner with Galway 11 years ago, has retired from inter-county football. He turns 30 next month.

EAMON FENNELL produced a powerful first-half display at centrefield in helping St Vincent's overcome St Maur's by 1-10 to 0-11 in their Dublin AFL Division 1 encounter last night.

The hosts were given an early boost when Ciarán Dorney availed of a defensive mix-up to goal after ten minutes while Tomás Quinn kept the scoreboard ticking over through points from placed balls.

Maur's battled on with Chris Carthy and Conor Maguire giving exceptional performances and they could have earned a point but for some inspired netminding from Michael Savage.

CORK (SF v Mayo): A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, E Cadogan; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissane; P O’Neill, A O’Connor; F Goold, P Kelly, P Kerrigan; C O’Neill, A Walsh, D O’Connor.

TYRONE (SF v Kildare): J Curran; A McCrory, C Gormley, PJ Quinn; C McCarron, P Harte, D McCaul; A Cassidy, C Cavanagh; R McNabb, M Donnelly, S Cavanagh; O Mulligan, N McKenna, S O’Neill.

LONGFORD (SF v Wexford): D Sheridan; D Brady, B Gilleran, D Reilly; C Smyth, M Quinn, S Mulligan; B McElvaney, J Keegan; P McCormack, P Barden, N Mulligan; D McElligot, S McCormack, B Kavanagh.