| 16.6°C Dublin

Strypes and Kodaline do battle for top music prize

AN inner city Dublin band who met at a house party are up against some of the biggest names in the industry for Irish Song of the Year.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize nominees for Irish Song of the Year 2013 have been unveiled.

The Original Rudeboys are in the running for the prestigious prize along with Kodaline, Two Door Cinema Club and The Strypes.

New Jackson's Sat Around Here, Hozier's Take Me To Church, Villagers' Nothing Arrived and James Vincent McMorrow's Cavalier also made the cut.

Sean Walsh, singer with Dublin trio The Original Rudeboys, said they were extremely delighted with the nomination for Never Gonna Walk Away.

"We get a lot of flack sometimes as we're not really a critics' band, we're a fans' band so to be nominated is great."

"It would mean a lot to me and the lads. I've never been up for an award in my life," he said. "Either way we're pretty pleased."

The Original Rudeboys met two years ago at a house party in Dublin. Since then they've built up a loyal fan base and toured Australia with The Script.

The trio of Sean, Neddy Arkins and Robert Burch are currently working on their second album.