Blackrock celebrate home win

Lindie Naughton

A RECORD number turned out for the East Leinster Invitational, held in perfect conditions at Blackrock College.

A CLEAR winner of the senior boys' race was Cillian O Maonaigh of Coláiste Eoin, who last Sunday took the Dublin U-19 Cross-Country crown for DSD. A fighting second, and leading Blackrock to team victory, was Andrew Cullen. Finishing a close third was Adam Crowley of Ardscoil Rís, with Liam Ashtown of St Aidan's Whitehall fourth in a high quality race.

Nicole Kenny of Rathdown won the senior girls' race comfortably, with Richeal Ní Laoghaire in second place leading the Coláiste íosagáin squad to its third team victory of the day. Finishing third was Jenny Hughes of Rathdown.

Other Dublin champions in action were Liam Mac Giolla Phádraig of Coláiste Eoin and Rathwon's Isabelle Odlum. Mac Giolla Phádraig beat Kevin Woods of CUS and Blackrock's Luke McCann in the boys' inter race, while Odlum, a newcomer to athletics, led from the start of the girls' inter race, beating Regan McGlynn of Loreto Stephen's Green and Saibh McCarrick of Muckross.

In the junior races, Hannah Ní Dhea of Coláiste íosagáin was another who took an early lead, finishing ahead of Alexandra's Ruby Barlow in the girls' race, while of the junior boys, Oisín ó Gibne from Drogheda Grammar beat Joseph Hession and Kevin McKenna, both St Aidan's. With only three to count, it meant St Aidan's were decisive winners of the team title.

Starting the days' programme were two packed minor races, with 130 in the girls' race alone.

Jody McCann of Rathdown was first home of the girls and Willow Park's Conor Halpin best of the boys. Dominating the girls' races were the girls of Coláiste íosagáin who won three of the four girls' team titles. The exception came in the inter race, where Muckross came home ahead of Alexandra College and Sion Hill.

Coming up next in schools athletics is the annual CSB Schools Cross- Country Invitation at the Alsaa, Dublin Airport on Wednesday, November 28.

Girls - Minor: 1 Jody McCann (Rathdown); 2 Niamh Ní Chiardha (Col íosagáin); 3 Sarah Demoney (Teresians). Teams - 1 Col íosagáin 20, 2 Holy Child Killiney 50, 3 Teresians 61. Junior: 1 Hannah Ní Dhea (Col íosagáin); 2 Ruby Barlow (Alexandra); 3 Gráinne Ní Fhrighil (Col íosagáin). Teams - 1 Col íosagáin 23, 2 Loreto Stephen's Green 48, 3 Alexandra 71. Inter: 1 Isabelle Odlum (Rathdown); 2 Regan McGlynn (Loreto Stephen's Green); 3 Saibh McCarrick (Muckross). Teams - 1 Muckross 23, 2 Alexandra 47, 3 Sion Hill 60. Senior: 1 Nicole Kenny (Rathdown); 2 Richeal Ni Laoghaire (Col Col íosagáin); 3 Jenny Hughes (HC Killiney).Teams - 1 Coláiste Col íosagáin 19, 2 Alexandra College 23, 3 Sion Hill 28.

Boys - Minor: 1 Conor Halpin (Willow Park); 2 Sean Conway (Templeogue College) ; 3 Liam Tierney (Willow Park). Teams - 1 Willow Park 15, 2 St Aidan's 49, 3 Temploegue College 66. Junior: 1 Oisin ó Gibne (Drogheda Grammar); 2 Joseph Hession (St Aidan's); 3 Kevin McKenna (St Aidan's). Teams - 1 St Aidan's 18, 2 Belvedere 42; 3 Col Eoin 56. Inter: 1 Liam Mac Giolla Phádraig (Col Eoin); 2 Kevin Woods (CUS); 3 Luke McCann (Blackrock). Teams - 1 Blackrock 25, 2 St Aidan's 32, 3 Belvedere 98. Senior: 1 Cillian ó Maonaigh (Col íosagáin); 2 Andrew Cullen (Blackrock); 3 Adam Crowley (Ardscoil Rís). Teams - 1 Blackrock 38, 2 Ardscoil Rís 68, 3 St Andrew's 88.