All-Stars hoping for better weather and result against Dublin

THE 2010 OZO Dublin All-Stars adventure is about to take flight once more. The Dublin All-Stars will tackle Dublin at Glenalbyn on Tuesday, December 28.

"That will be an important game for us and we are looking very seriously at it," declared Dublin manager, Denis Murphy.

The occasion is a joint venture with the Dublin Ladies Football association. Both bodies are hoping that, weather-wise, the day will be a lot better than last year.

That shouldn't be too hard. It never stopped raining and there was a biting wind coming in from the Dublin Mountains.

Still, two worthy games took place, and the All-Stars put up a fine show before Dublin beat them by five points. The All-Stars selectors searched high and low for the best talent, and Brendan Cooper says they will do so again.

Their goalkeeper last year was Louise Curry of St Oliver Plunkett's/ER who won the O'Duffy Cup with Galway in 1996. Also making the cut was one of the most inspirational players that the Parish ever produced, Clare Donohoe of Erin's Isle.


p At a well attended County Convention in Thomas Davis, the following were elected for 2011. Many thanks to Thomas Davis for hosting the event.

Cathaoirleach: Marie O'Brien (Naomh Jude); Leas Cathaoirleach: Brendan Cooper (Na Fianna); Rúnaí: Mona O'Sullivan (Ballyboden St Enda's); Leas Rúnaí: Mary Gibney (Naomh Olaf); Cisteoir: Tom Hayes (Ballinteer St John's); Leas Cisteoir: Frank Malcolmson (Thomas Davis); Oifigeach Caidreamh Poiblí: Gerry O'Sullivan (Ballyboden St Enda's); Leas Oifigeach Caidreamh Poiblí: Seamus Massey (Naomh Jude); Claráthoir: Vacant; Comhairle Laighean: Germaine Noonan (St Vincent's); Cathaoirleach -- Bórd Mionúir: Patsy Powell (Naomh Bríd); Development Officer: Vacant; Senior Teams' Representative: Patsy Murphy (St Vincent's).

p Good Counsel did a splendid job of hosting the Annual Adult Presentation Night where the following awards were made -- Club Players of the Year -- Sponsored by Design Edge Ladies Fashions, Pavilions Shopping Centre.

Senior A: Joanne O'Sullivan (Ballyboden St Enda's)

Senior B1: Fiona Hayes (Ballinteer St John's)

Senior B2: Ciara Connell (Naomh Peregrine)

Intermediate 1: Amy Murphy (St Mark's)

Intermediate 2: Anita Graham (Trinity Gaels)

Junior A: Siobhan Phelan (Naomh Bríd)

Junior B: Shauna McGuinness (Naomh Maur)

Under-18A: Emma Doyle (Ballyboden St Enda's)

Under 18B: Michelle McDonald (Naomh Barróg)

County Players of the Year -- Sponsored by Design Edge Ladies Fashions, Pavilions Shopping Centre

Senior: Tara Corrigan (Naomh Jude)

Junior: Jenny Russell (Naomh Uinsionn)

p The Juvenile Awards Presentation had to be postponed due to the weather. An alternative date will be announced in due course.

p The Dublin v Kilkenny Minor Championship replay also fell victim to the weather.

p Dublin GAA Yearbook featuring many items of camogie news will be on sale the week starting December 6.