Tuesday 23 July 2019

Young athletes strut their stuff

Gaelscoil Inis Corthaidh participants with their principal, Clíodhna Ní Chinnéide
Gaelscoil Inis Corthaidh participants with their principal, Clíodhna Ní Chinnéide

The annual Co. Wexford Primary Schools athletics day took place at the Athletics Hub in Enniscorthy recently.

This was the first time that the event was held at this new venue, having been based in Bree for many years. The modern eight-lane, all-weather track proved very popular with the young athletes.

Just over 50 schools from all over Co. Wexford, involving approximately 1,400 pupils, participated. Enniscorthy Rugby Club and the Showgrounds had to be used for bus and car parking.

The Rackard League committee (Cumann na mBunscol) are very grateful to all adults who helped organise the events on the day which happened to be ideal weatherwise.

The standard of running and jumping was very high and many athletes produced personal bests, particularly in the boys' high jump Under-12.

Aidan Shannon from Ballyhack N.S. was very impressive in winning the Under-14 600m race.


Under-8 80m: 1, Leah Bolger (Glynn); 2, Kayla Doyle-Kavanagh (Crossabeg); 3, Lily Boggan (Barntown).

Under-9 80m: 1, Ciara Laffan (Glynn); 2, Victoria Kunz (Rosslare); 3, Aoibhinn Quirke (Kilrane).

Under-10 80m: 1, Katie Doyle (Marshalstown); 2, Jordanna Chapman (Caim); 3, Cara Morrissey (Crossabeg).

Under-11 100 m: 1, Abbie Doyle (Courtnacuddy); 2, Eimear Sweetman (Loreto, Gorey); 3, Ava Byrne (St. Senan's).

Under-12 100m: 1, Alex Lynch (Educate Together Gorey); 2, Abbie Lynch (Educate Together Gorey); 3, Ciara Dempsey (Kilmore).

Under-14 100m: 1, Chloe O'Toole (Taghmon); 2, Caitlin Boggan (Mayglass); 3, Ciara Payne (Glynn).


Under-8 80m: 1, Thomas Brennan (Marshalstown); 2, Elijah Page-Redmond (Kilrane); 3, Ryan Walsh (Kilmyshall).

Under-9 80m: 1, Cian Donovan (Glynn); 2, Tadhg Kenny (St. Senan's, Enniscorthy); 3, Tiernan Ruane (Caroreigh).

Under-10 80m: 1, Kevin O'Mahony (Piercesttown); 2, Tom Funge (St. Joseph's, Gorey); 3, Arthur Ashmore (Marshalstown).

Under-11 100m: 1, Oisín Rochford (Bree); 2, Ben O'Toole (Taghmon); 3, James Fanning (Gaelscoil Inis Corthaidh).

Under-12 100m: 1, Seán Rowley (Oylegate); 2, Luke O'Rourke (Curracloe); 3, Andrew Smith (Educate Together Gorey).

Under-14 100m: 1, Darragh Murphy (Barntown); 2, Finn Ryan (Rathangan); joint 3, Nikodem Czernik (Kilmuckridge) and Ke Burke-Young (Scoil Mhuire, Wexford).


Under-9: 1, Ellie Murphy (Taghmon), 308 cm.; 2, Ava Doyle (Crossabeg), 306 cm.; 3, Eabha Keane (Murrintown), 290 cm.

Under-11: 1, Caragh McDonald (Adamstown), 376 cm.; 2, Sarah Phylan (Caim), 345 cm.; 3, Leagh Maddock (Murrintown).

Under-13: 1, Eimear Fortune (Kilmore), 376 cm.; 2, Hazel O'Keeffe (Taghmon), 363 cm.; 3, Jessie Akingemi (Piercestown), 361 cm.


Under-9: 1, Charlie Kehoe (Oylegate), 338 cm.; 2, Cian Pinnegar (Educate Together Gorey), 328 cm.; 3, Ronan McGrath (St. Senan's, Enniscorthy), 327 cm.).

Under-11: 1, Seán Hyland (Caim), 396 cm.; 2, Josh Duggan (Kilrane), 389 cm.; 3, Leo Morris (Marshalstown), 382 cm.

Under-13: 1, Oisín Kehoe (Murrintown), 437 cm.; 2, Cian Murphy (Caim), 418 cm.; 3, Luke Corrigan (Crossabeg), 397 cm.


Under-12: 1, Orla Deegan (Ferns); 2, Emma Halligan (Kilrane); joint 3, Gracie Kehoe (Oylegate) and Nelli Douglas-Adams (Ballygarrett).

Under-14: 1, Saibhe Byrne (Ballythomas); 2, Rachel Gregg (Murrintown); 3, Aoife Butler.

Boys' Under-12 high jump: 1, Dannon Long (Kiltealy), P.B.; 2, Ryan Whelan (Gaelscoil Inis Corthaidh), P.B.; 3, Shane Doran (Glenbrien), P.B.

Girls' Under-14 400m: 1, Sinéad O'Reilly (Mercy, Wexford); 2, Eimear Halpin (Crossabeg); 3, Ciara Butler.

Boys' Under-14 600m: 1, Aidan Shannon (Ballyhack); 2, Conor Doyle (Marshalstown).


Under-10 girls: 1, Crossabeg; 2, Scoil Mhuire (Wexford); 3, Caim.

Under-12 girls: 1, Educate Together Gorey; 2, Mercy (Wexford); 3, Ferns.

Under-10 boys: 1, St. Senan's (Enniscorthy); 2, Piercestown; 3, Scoil Mhuire (Wexford).

Under-12 boys: 1, Caim; 2, Oylegate; 3, Rathangan.

Under-14 mixed: 1, Rathangan; 2, Scoil Mhuire (Wexford); 3, Crossabeg.

Gorey Guardian