Tuesday 12 December 2017

S.B.R. men show clean pair of heels to rivals

THE COUNTY Novice, Senior and Masters championships sponsored by Wexford Creamery took place on Wednesday last at the D.M.P. track in Wexford.

The surface of the grass track was soft after earlier rain but the evening itself was sunny and breezy and proved very successful. Seven clubs were represented with the blue vests of Sliabh Buidhe Rovers dominating the men's field.

First race of the evening was the women's 1,500 metres. Ciara Wilson (D.M.P.) and Jackie Carty (Kilmore) led out the field with Martina O'Sullivan of Slaney Olympic in third position. By the second lap Jackie had moved comfortably into the lead and went on to win in 5.14.

Second was Ciara with Martina third overall and first novice. Second novice was Niamh Coman (D.M.P.) and third was Joan Doyle (S.0.). Over-35: 1, Jackie Carty; 2, Martina O'Sullivan; 3, Joan Doyle.

In the men's 1,500 guest runner Mick Kelly of Gowran A.C. started strongly, closely followed by Lee Savage of St. Killian's A.C. Close behind were the S.B.R. trio of Denis Moynihan, Tom Hogan and Paul Gibbons.

By lap three Paul had nudged into the lead but it was Tom who crossed the finish line first to win the Senior title. Mick (guest) came in second with Denis Moynihan winning the silver medal closely followed by Paul who took bronze.

In a small field, Jackie Carty dominated the women's 3,000 metres from the start, finishing well ahead of the competition in 11.26.

The battle for the minor placings was between Catherine O'Connor (Menapians), Fidelma Rossiter (Kilmore) and Mary Doyle (S.B.R.) who exchanged positions several times as the race developed.

In the end it was Fidelma who finished second with Mary in third place. Fidelma was first novice also, while second was Mary Doyle (S.B.R.) and third was Laura Halpin (St. Killian's).

Over-35: 1, Jackie Carty; 2, Mary Doyle (S.B.R.); 3, Catherine O'Connor (Menapians).

The men's 3,000 and 5,000 metres were run as one race. The race was led in the early stages by Paul Gibbons.

Tom Hogan moved into the lead closely pursued by Tommy McElwaine (S.B.R.), Paul and Jason O'Connor (Slaney Olympic).

In the seventh lap Tommy moved to the front and claimed first place in the 3,000 0ver-35 with Jason O'Connor second and Matt Flannelly third. The novice 3,000 was won by Denis Moynihan (S.B.R.).

Second was David Leonard (S.B.R.) and third was Barry Breen (S.B.R.).

The Senior 5k was won by Tom Hogan with Tommy McElwaine second and Paul Gibbons third (all from S.B.R.).

The last of the individual races were the women's and men's 800 metres. Ciara Wilson dominated the women's race.

Martina O'Sullivan was in second position by half way but finished in third spot, having been overtaken by Fidelma Rossiter in the second lap.

Fidelma was first novice also, while second was Martina O'Sullivan and third place was filled by Teresa lgoe (D.M.P.).

Over-35 ladies: 1, Martina O'Sullivan; 2, Catherine O'Connor; 3, Teresa lgoe.

Tom Hogan won his third race of the evening in the men's 800 followed by team-mate Denis Moynihan, with Richard Fortune of D.M.P. in third place.

Tom was also first novice, while second was Denis Moynihan and third was Jim O'Malley (S.B.R.). Over-35: 1, Richie Fortune; 2, Jason O'Connor (S.0.); 3, Raymond Byrne (S.B.R.).

The evening concluded with the 4 x 400 metre relays.

The D.M.P. team of Ciara Wilson, A. Furlong, L. Doyle and T. lgoe won the women's relay with Slaney Olympic's Emer Kehoe, Mag Dunphy, Joan Doyle and Martina O'Sullivan taking second place ahead of the Menapians quartet, F. Ryan, J. O Broin, S. Doyle and H. Sinnott, who claimed bronze medals.

In the men's race Denis Moynihan, Myles Gibbons,Tommy McElwaine and Tom Hogan took gold for S.B.R. Second place went to M. Stafford, D. Percival, J. O'Neill and K. Cogley of Menapians, with R. Byrne, B. Kehoe, B. Kearney and Paul Gibbons (S.B.R. 'B' team) finishing third.

Well done to all who competed.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links