Thursday 18 July 2019

Naas hit form after break

Enniscorthy's under-15s made their first away trip of the new year on Saturday to play the host club, Naas, in the Leinster League.

The ground was wet, the day was dry and Enniscorthy were very much up for it as they dominated proceedings in the first-half. However, despite spending nearly all that first-half attacking the Naas try line, Enniscorthy failed to breach the excellent defence which tackled and defended like demons which meant they had to settle for a 0-0 scoreline at half-time.

The second-half was a different kettle of fish. The home side started well and after two minutes, following an Enniscorthy knock on, Naas scored a try and converted it to make it 7-0.

Enniscorthy responded quickly; on seven minutes Naas were penalised for offside and, following a good pick and go, Jordan Kelly scored a well-deserved try which was converted by Fiachra Hourihane to make it 7-7.

However, this was a transformed Naas side in the second-half and on ten minutes they mounted a great attack, spreading the ball across the back line to score an excellent try which was converted to make it 14-7.

It was clear that the next score was going to be crucial and it went the way of the home side as, despite a long period of good defending by Enniscorthy on their try line, they eventually managed to score from a pick and go and extended their lead to 19-7.

Enniscorthy tried their best to get back into the game after that but it was always going to be an uphill struggle, and their woes were compounded when Naas scored another try just before the final whistle to make it 24-7 in the home side's favour.

Despite the disappointment of defeat, the Enniscorthy team and management will take some comfort particularly from their first-half performance when they dominated possession and territory against a strong Naas side.

Enniscorthy: Danny Ryan, Fiachra Hourihane, Eoghan Herlihy, Adam Gethings, Niall Parker, Brian Corcoran, Luke Harrington, Ryan Cahill, Cameron O'Leary, Michael McGinty, James Rothwell, Ryan Askins, Joe Atkinson, Stephen Coady, Seamus Doyle, Stephen Hadley, Steven Hickey, Ryan Hodge, Jordan Kelly, Conor Nolan, Adam Pepper, Cian Rochford, Robert Scanlan, Cian Wickham, Seánie O'Neill, Arron McAuliffe.

Gorey Guardian