Wednesday 19 June 2019

Gold-winning gymnasts impress

Community Games

Some of the medal-winning gymnasts
Some of the medal-winning gymnasts

Gorey Gymnastic Club was the venue for the county finals of the Community Games gymnastic events recently.

Gorey Community Games organised the event and co-ordinator Angie Dooley had everything ready for the competitions.

Grateful thanks from Wexford Community Games to her and her efficient team of workers for the smooth running of the events, and to the judges who helped out.

Well done to all who competed, and good luck to the gold medal winners who will be in action at the national finals in Limerick in May.

There was competition for girls Under-9, Under-11, Under-13 and Under-15, and for boys Under-9 and Under-11.

The Under-9 girls featured Lily McCann, Lorena O`Neill, Amelia Doherty (B.B.B.C.R.), Ruby Murphy, Jessica O'Brien, Luna Waters (Gorey), Beibheann Tomkins, Eva Lynch, Yvonne Butler (Kilrush-Askamore), Robyn O'Toole, Natasha Byrne, Lottie Stewart-Lennon (Craanford), Orlaith Ryan (Tintern), Estelle Byrne, Sinéad McGonigle and Lorena Bolger (Kilanerin).

The gold medal went to Robyn O'Toole (Craanford), with Jessica O'Brien (Gorey) taking the silver and team-mate Ruby Murphy winning the bronze.

Rebecca Lynch, Jessica Kelly-Doyle, Eva Bailey (B.B.B.C.R.), Zara Grousse, Ciara Byrne, Holly O'Brien (Gorey), Cliodhna Tomkins (Kilrush-Askamore), Chloe O'Brien, Robin Mouzet, Grace Doyle (Craanford), Sophie Rossiter, Emma Jenkins, Keela Byrne (Tintern), Ruth Doyle (Glynn-Barntown), Eavan Bolger, Wasini O'Neill and Lucy Foley (Kilanerin) featured in the Under-11 girls' event.

The gold medal went to Zara Grousse from Gorey, the silver to Holly O'Brien from Gorey, and the bronze to Eavan Bolger from Kilanerin.

Under-13 girls taking part were Ciara Roche (Piercestown-Murrintown), Ella McCann, Robyn Wafer (B.B.B.C.R.), Rebecca Keating, Julia Boss, Sadhbh Martin (Gorey), Aoibhinn Ruth Monks, Maebh Anne Mimnagh (Kilrush-Askamore), Katie Crosbie, Megan Hayes, Aoife O'Brien (Craanford), Aideen Byrne, Mackale Mullins (Tintern), Beibhinn McDonald, Caoimhe McGonigle and Eadaoin O'Neill-Kinsella (Kilanerin).

The gold medal went to Ciara Roche (Piercestown-Murrintown), with silver to Rebecca Keating (Gorey) and bronze awarded to Aoibhinn Ruth Monks from Kilrush-Askamore.

Under-15 girls involved were Chloe O'Neill, Eabha Doyle (B.B.B.C.R.), Saidhbhe Sheil, Erin McKillin, Ellie Kinsella (Gorey), Kila Kenny (Craanford) and Eve Macken from Kilanerin.

Joint gold medal winners were Saidhbhe Sheil and Erin McKillin from Gorey, with Saidhbhe going through to the national finals on countback.

The silver medal went to Kila Kenny from Craanford, with bronze going to Eabha Doyle from B.B.B.C.R.

Gary Doyle (B.B.B.C.R.), Eric Hayden, Dillon Byrne and Conal Martin (Gorey) were in action in the Under-9 category for boys. Gold went to Dillon Byrne, with silver to Eric Hayden, and a joint bronze went to Conal Martin and Gary Doyle.

Three Under-11 boys were competing, with gold going to Noah Murphy from Gorey, silver to Alex Bailey from Craanford, and bronze to Darragh Funge from Gorey.

Gorey Guardian