Sunday 19 November 2017

Bree-davidstown strike gold

WELL DONE to the children from various parts of the county who excelled once again at the national finals in Athlone last weekend.

Congratulations to the variety team from the Bree-Davidstown Area which won the gold medals. Our congratulations also to the Under-14 and Under-16 skittles teams from the Taghmon Area which brought home the silver and bronze medals respectively; to the hockey team from the Piercestown-Murrintown Area which came home with the silver medals and to the Under-15 girls' soccer team from the Tintern Area which took home the medallions.

Congratulations also to Diarmuid McDonald from the Glynn-Barntown Area who won silver in the Under-14 individual gymnastic competition, and to Seán Maher, also from the Glynn-Barntown Area, who won silver in the Under16 freestyle swimming event.

The Under-16 boys' squad from the Glynn-Barntown Area also came home with the fourth place medallions. Full reports on both weekend's will begin next week.

This coming weekend the county will turn its attention to the competitors who will take part in the highly-competitive track and field events. The county has also got a number of teams competing, with Piercestown-Murrintown flying the flag for the county in the rounders competitions, and the Castlebridge-Crossabeg Area competing in the girls' futsal competition.

There will be plenty for the children from Wexford and their supporters to take an interest in and give their support to, so good luck everyone.

ROUNDERS: Here we have the Piercestown-Murrintown Area representing us. This Area has been flying the flag for rounders with much success for a good number of years now with team coach Eamonn Barrett giving of his time and expertise, and the results show with the teams being very strong in the provincial and national finals.

This year the Area will have an Under15 girls' team which won a thrilling Leinster semi-final against The Heath from Co. Laois and then overwhelmed Johnstown from Meath in the final to retain their provincial title on a 27-0 scoreline.

The Area will also be sending up an Under-15 boys' team which won its semi-final against The Heath by staging a magnificent comeback after falling 113 behind after three innings. They went on to win the Leinster title against Johnstown on a 14-3 scoreline.

Good luck to the girls' team of Lucy McGuinness, Aine Ennis, Bronagh Whitty, Eimear Doherty, Sarah O'Connor, Gráinne Shirley, Orlaith Barrett, Mary Barrett, Jacklynn Breslin, Lauren Kavanagh and Dervla Byrne, and to the boys' team of Nicholas Greene, Daragh Kenny, Kyle Firman, Rory O'Connor, Conor Coleman, Callum Quirke, Philip McDermott, Barry O'Connor, Michael Codd, Adam Cantwell, Conor Firman and Shane Parle.

UNDER-13 GIRLS' FUTSAL: Here the girls from the Castlebridge-Crossabeg Area hope to bring the honours back. Some of these girls were part of the Under-13 futsal team which won silver medals at the national finals last year while the rest of them were on the panel of the Under-13 soccer team which took gold in Athlone last year, so there are plenty of experienced players on this panel.

In the Leinster Games, they defeated a team from Kildare in the final on a 3-1 scoreline. Good luck to Sinéad RonanJohn, Fiona Kinsella, Chloe Mythen, Sadbh McCarthy, Sarah Harding-Kenny, Ailish Neville, Larah Campbell and Mikaela Lanigan. The team coaches are Adrian Carr and Paul Kenny.

ATHLETICS: This is probably the highlight of the Community Games national finals and most definitely the keenestfought with medals hard to come by. However, Wexford have a great record in athletics and on the track there are few events that do not feature a child with the purple and gold singlet.

Their track record in the relays is also very good but medals are a bit scarce in the field events. Still, we look forward to some good running over the weekend and the very best of luck to the following who are in contention.

The Bree-Davidstown Area has a huge number of children competing with Amy Doyle, Leah Nolan, Sophie Codd, Katie Whelan, Katie-Mai McCabe, Chloe Whelan, Aoife Rochford, Annalise Crean, Kathlyn Furlong, Kate Fenlon, Sophie McCabe, Niamh Rochford, Lucy Kehoe, Nicole Furlong, Olivia Howe, Aideen Kane, Kasey Doyle, Aoife Codd, Liam Doyle, John Kehoe, Ryan Murray, Daire Rochford, Paul Roche, Peter Rodgers, Cian Wickham, Darragh Byrne, Finn Condon, Eamonn Doyle, Leon Sinnott and Callum Doyle travelling.

Horeswood will have Jennifer Cummins, Sophie Becker, Shannen Dawkins, Patrick Cummins, Elena Kenny, Kathryn Dempsey and Michelle Kinsella competing. For the Rathangan Area there is Kevin Redmond, Ian Bennett, Ben Moore, Finn O'Driscoll, Jack Moore, Conor J. Ryan, Conor M. Ryan, Billy Ryan, Ann-Marie Bennett, Kyle Kennedy, Rachel Bennett and Ciara Walsh.

For the Castlebridge-Crossabeg Area there is Cian Kinlough and Seán Rowley, while for the Taghmon Area there is Aisling Kenny, Ian Carthy and Stephen Stafford.

The Craanford Area is represented by Donnacha Kenny, Stuart Byrne and Cathal Byrne, while Ferns will be powered by Lisa Bolger and Ivan Meegan.

For Gorey there is Nadine Kenny, for Kilmore there is Saoirse Burke, while for Enniscorthy there is Darragh O'Connor, Peter O'Connor, James Fortune, Mark O'Connor, Lauren Kinsella, Rafael Abiobye, Dylan O'Sullivan and Maxwell Shoyegu.

Clonard will have Callum McDonald, Luke O'Neill, Sam O'Neill, Cian Doyle, David McDonald and Aaron Smith, and the Rathgarogue-Cushinstown Area will have Donagh O'Connor.

Again the bus will leave the upper car park at Ferrycarrig Hotel at 11 a.m. on Friday, August 24, heading on to Enniscorthy where the pick-up is close to the Riverside Park Hotel at 11.20 a.m., and then on to Athlone.

The cost is €25 and under 18 youths travelling on the bus must have their fees with them.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links