Sunday 22 September 2019

Glory for Clongen

Intermediate final in Taghmon - Clongeen 2-7, St Martin's 0-9

Dean Goodison Sports Reporter

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown powered to glory in the Minor ladies' football Division 3 final, breaking the strong Ballygarrett resolve with a powerful final quarter in Blackwater recently.

In a very competitive game for the most part, there was just a point separating the sides at the interval, but Rathgarogue-Cushinstown were able to exert their will the longer the game went on.

There was no secret to the victors' success - they worked hard as a team and were able to spread the scoring responsibility amongst eight different players. They defended well too, allowing just three scores in the second-half to emerge victorious.

Ballygarrett, led by the likes of Sadhbh Corcoran, Therese Lawless, Caoilfhionn Nolan and substitute Aoife Wafer, put in a gutsy performance. The entire team worked hard for the full hour, but two yellow cards in the last ten minutes proved too big a hurdle to overcome.

Eabha Cullen got the opening goal for Rathgarogue-Cushinstown, while points from Libby Whelan, Katie Murphy and a Gráinne White brace kept the New Ross District side in the contest in the opening half.

However, the advantage was held by their opponents at the break. Lawless, Josephine Gahan and Caoilfhionn Nolan (three) had points on the board, but it was the 1-1 from Ciara Murphy, which included a well-taken penalty, that gave Ballygarrett a 1-6 to 1-5 interval advantage.

Murphy and Nolan added points in the second-half, but Rathgarogue-Cushinstown started to take control the longer the game wore on. Substitute Aoife Wafer scored a late goal for Ballygarrett but it wasn't enough.

Instead Rathgarogue-Cushinstown went on a scoring blitz. They shared the points around, with Orlaith Gaffney, Whelan, Cullen, Niamh O'Shea, Katelyn Carty and Gráinne White on the scoresheet.

However, it was the majors of Katie Murphy and Nicole Whitty that proved too big a hurdle to overcome for Ballygarrett as their opponents took the county title.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown: Jessica Sutton; Chloe Byrne, Anna O'Brien, Caoimhe Cowman; Sinéad O'Brien, Katelyn Carty (0-1), Ellie Nugent; Cora McGrath, Gráinne White (0-3); Orlaith Gaffney (capt., 0-2), Katie Murphy (1-2, 0-2 frees), Eabha Cullen (1-4); Libby Whelan (0-2), Niamh O'Shea (0-1), Caoimhe Lyng. Subs. - Fiona Lyng for C. Lyng, Nicole Whitty (1-0) for C. Byrne, Katelyn Johnson for Whelan, Gráinne O'Neill for Carty, also, Ciara Murphy-Smithers.

Ballygarrett: Caragh Clarke; Sarah Dunne, Rebecca Burke, Chloe Sweeney; Andrea Kinsella, Amy Lawless, Aoife Doyle; Sadhbh Corcoran, Fiona Cousins; Therese Lawless (0-1), Josephine Gahan (0-1 free), Caoilfhionn Nolan (0-4); Layla Mulhall, Ciara Murphy (1-2, 1-0 pen, 0-2 frees), Eve O'Loughlin. Subs. - Aoife Wafer (1-0) for A. Lawless, inj (3), Lawless for Gahan, inj. (18), Cianna McNamee for Wafer (34), Wafer for O'Loughlin (42), O'Loughlin for Lawless (49), also Shannon Fleming, Holly Moran, Katie Tobin, Aoibhe Carroll, Emily Reilly, Sherene Hamilton, Ellen O'Loughlin.

Gorey Guardian