Monday 19 February 2018

Shels find scoring range in comfortable success

SHELMALIERS ONLY scored 1-4 in their last Junior hurling championship match, but they had no problems in front of the posts in Blackwater on Saturday last when they recorded a comfortable victory over Monageer-Boolavogue in this clash between two sides in search of a first Group A victory.

Indeed, they led from pillar to post after Noel Mythen goaled in the third minute, a chance created by a fine catch from young Arnie Murphy after a delivery from James Gordon whose return this season following a long injury lay-off is a big boost.

The fact that 40 frees were awarded in total (23 to the losers) meant that the game was devoid of any flow, but the Shels always maintained a decent advantage.

It was 1-4 to 0-2 in their favour at the end of the opening quarter, and the next eight points were shared to leave the men in red trailing at the break by 1-8 to 0-6.

Any lingering doubt over the outcome was ended in the 39th minute when Willie O'Shaughnessy goaled seconds after the mentors switched him with Jody Donohoe on the right flank of the attack, with the shot taking a wicked deflection off the stick of netminder Morgan Gahan en route to the net (2-9 to 0-6).

Even though Monageer-Boolavogue replied instantly with a James Walsh major, the Shels underlined their superiority as free-taker Shane Birney (two) and wing-back Denis Kelly picked off points before an unmarked Páraic O'Leary ghosted in from midfield unattended to lash home a handy third goal in the 50th minute.

The leaders could afford the luxury of bringing on five late substitutes, including former Monageer-Boolavogue player Stephen Whelan, and another one of that number, Johnny Campbell, closed out a handy win with the last two Shels points in a game which featured twelve wides per team.

Shelmaliers: Seán Byrne; Eoghan Fitzgerald, Kevin O'Leary, Glen Malone; Denis Kelly (0-1), James Gordon, Cathal Gaule; Ciarán Walsh (capt., 0-1), Páraic O'Leary (1-0); Willie O'Shaughnessy (1-1), James Cash (0-3), Arnie Murphy; Jody Donohoe, Noel Mythen (1-1), Shane Birney (0-6 frees). Subs. - Mick Kelly for Donohoe (46), Stephen Whelan for O'Shaughnessy (50), Johnny Campbell (0-2) for Murphy (50), Eoin O'Leary for Gaule (52), Emmet O'Leary for Mythen (56).

Monageer-Boolavogue: Morgan Gahan; Seán Doran, Daire Turner, Declan Kelly; Paddy Walsh (0-1), Chris Daly (capt.), Seán McCabe; Laurence Murphy, Dean Fenlon; Ed Rowsome (0-6, 5 frees), David Breen, James Walsh (1-1); Mark Gahan, John O'Loughlin, James Sweeney. Subs. - Denis Walsh for Rowsome (38), Shane Gahan for Sweeney (50), Rowsome for Mark Gahan (60).

Referee: Seán Slaven (Faythe Harriers).

Gorey Guardian

Promoted Links

Promoted Links