Friday 24 May 2019

Castletown hungry for goals

Castletown 4-10 Monageer-Boolavogue 0-13

Alan Goff

Castletown had nine points to spare over Monageer-Boolavogue in the Enniscorthy Farm Systems Junior football championship Group B game in Oulart on Saturday.

The Gorey District side had goals on their mind from the off as they struck three in the opening 20 minutes which laid the foundations for a comfortable win.

The game was only five minutes old when Castletown hit the net for the first time after Joe Gardiner punched a rebound to the net.

James Sweeney tried to steady the ship for Monageer-Boolavogue with a point but they were hit with a further blow when Kevin Morris scored a fine goal after 15 minutes.

Barely a minute later they had their third goal when Gavin Stamp followed up to tap home when his penalty was saved. After a whirlwind 20 minutes, Castletown were ahead by 3-2 to 0-3.

Monageer-Boolavogue finished the half well thanks to a brace from Cathal Walsh to leave the score at 3-3 to 0-7 at half-time.

The second-half was only five minutes old when Castletown hit the net for the fourth time when Gavin Stamp got his second goal.

The Gorey District side's quick running game was creating a lot of chances and they were clinical in front of goal.

Monageer-Boolavogue for their part tried to keep the game competitive, and points from Cathal Walsh and James Sweeney meant that they trailed by nine (4-8 to 0-11) with ten minutes to play.

The remainder of the game saw both sides trade scores, with the impressive Gavin Stamp taking is tally to 2-4 with a fine point near the death.

Castletown were full value for their win and their The final scoreline of 4-10 to 0-13 did not flatter them in the slightest against a Monageer-Boolavogue side which had also already qualified.

Castletown: James Flood; David Deering, Risteárd Kinsella (0-1), Chris Callanan; Cian Bealin (0-2), Colm Morris, Frankie Kavanagh; Ross Cody, Joe Gardiner (1-0); Marc Halpin (0-1), Darragh Brooks (0-2), Aaron Condren; Kevin Morris (1-0), Gavin Stamp (2-4, 0-1 free), Stephen Rafferty. Subs. - Frank Kavanagh for Callanan (53), Seán Roche for Rafferty (55), Alan Molloy for K. Morris (58).

Monageer-Boolavogue: Niall Finn; Morgan Gahan, Niall O'Reilly, Ray O'Brien; Chris Daly (0-1), Ian Hawkins (0-1 free), Damien Fenlon; Micheál Gahan; Michael Sweeney, Mark Gahan (0-1), David Mernagh; Cathal Walsh (0-5, 2 frees), Arran Breslin, James Sweeney (0-2), Robbie Donnolly. Subs. - Matthew Dunne (0-3, 2 frees) for Breslin (HT), Stephen Murphy for Walsh, inj. (36), Karl Rowsome for Morgan Gahan (38), Breslin for Donnelly, (51), Donnolly for O'Brien (60).

Referee: Francis Neville (Shelmaliers).

Gorey Guardian