Sunday 13 October 2019

Artists awarded €25,000 in bursaries

Michelle Dooley Mahon
Michelle Dooley Mahon
Els Dietvorst
Hanneke Van Ryswyk
Deirdre Grant

Maria Pepper

Twenty County Wexford artists have been awarded Artlinks bursaries totalling €25,000 to help them develop their work.

The Wexford awards are part of an overall €60,000 fund for 2019 which will be shared between artists in the South East.

Artlinks is a partnership of local authority Art Offices in Carlow, Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford, supported by the Arts Council, to provide grants for professional development opportunities and supports for established and emerging artists who are resident in these counties.

Individual awards range between €1,000 and €2,000 and cover music, literature, visual arts, dance and theatre.

The County Wexford recipients are: Deirdre Grant (Dance), Vivian Brodie Hayes (Dance) Els Dietvorst (Film) Liam O' Neill/Fergal O' Byrne ( Film), Sheila Forsey (Literature), David Begley( Literature), Claire Keegan (Literature), Cat Hogan (Literature),Michael Fortune (Multidisciplinary) Kevin Lawlor- (Music), Laura Hyland (Music ), Karen Ni Bhroin (Music) Peter Murphy (Music) Aileen Lambert (Music) Declan Dempsey (Theatre), Michelle Dooley Mahon (Theatre), Laura Ni Fhlaibin ( Visual Art) Hanneke Van Ryswyk (Visual Art) Emma Roche(Visual Art) and Mary-Ruth Walsh (Visual Art).

'The competition in Wexford was extremely high this year with 42 applications in total received, representing a 40% increase in applications over 2018', said County Wexford Arts Officer Liz Burns.

'Because of this increased demand, we increased our annual investment to €25,000 for 2019. I'd like to congratulate all the artists and wish them the very best with their chosen projects', she said

Artists in the four local authority areas can register for membership free of charge on

Gorey Guardian