Tuesday 23 October 2018

Recycled decorations wow judges

People’s Choice award winner and Overall Individual Primary School winner, Laura Kehoe (Ballyellis Ns) and her decoration ‘I “Can” Sing Choir’, with Cliona Connolly, Wexford County Council, and Cllr John Hegarty
People’s Choice award winner and Overall Individual Primary School winner, Laura Kehoe (Ballyellis Ns) and her decoration ‘I “Can” Sing Choir’, with Cliona Connolly, Wexford County Council, and Cllr John Hegarty
Overall Group Winners, CBS Primary School, with ‘A Christmas Caraousel - Hot Air Balloon Ride’. Pictured, from left: Mark Kavanagh, Cliona Connolly (Wexford County Council), Ciaran Doyle, Cllr John Hegarty, Liam Dempsey, Sean Healy and Christie Joss
1st and 2nd class winners (from left) back – Liam Stafford (Monageer NS), Ross Cowman (Mercy, Wexford), Cllr John Hegarty, Lexi Murphy (Screen NS), Ben Allen (St Mary’s NS, Enniscorthy) and Pauric Doran (Scoil Naomh Abbain); front – Ethan Allen (Scoil Mhuire Rosslare), Luke Tobin (Scoil Mhuire Rosslare), Darragh Sheehan (Screen NS), Phoebe Scanlon (Danescastle NS), Illanna Egan (Ballycullane NS) and Martin Kehoe (Ballyellis NS)

Esther Hayden

There was a wealth of creativity and ingenuity on display in County Buildings last week as the winners of this year's Christmas Decoration competition were announced.

The competition which is organised by Wexford County Council in association with South East Radio is one of the highlights of the festive calendar as the children's creations showcase how reusable recycled material is.

Cllr John Hegarty who presented the awards said: 'The school children who participated in this competition have shown us all how to reduce waste by making unusual Christmas decorations from everyday household waste materials and a bit of imagination. They are a wonderful example to us all and I congratulate them, their teachers and their parents for their efforts.'

Hundreds of children around the county participated in the Christmas Decoration Competition which was open to all primary and secondary school children.

Alan Corcoran from South East Radio said: 'the competition which is now in its 14th year is great as it aims to get children and their parents thinking about how to reuse materials that might otherwise be thrown away'.

Cliona Connolly, Environment Education Officer with Wexford County Council the creativity of the children was fantastic and the use of waste material fosters the ethos of reusing material whenever possible.

'Schools around the county were invited to make a Christmas decoration out of waste materials such as cardboard, newspapers, plastic and glass. Numerous schools throughout Wexford participated in the competition and one entry per category from each school was put forward to the County Final. Among this years' submissions were cribs, Christmas trees, snowmen, Santa and his sleigh, angels, Christmas village scenes, Rudolf, and lots of tree decorations.

'A group category proved to be a huge success again this year as it encouraged children to work together to make amazing decorations from as young as junior infants. All 257 decorations received were displayed in the County Hall and received great praise.'

The overall individual winner was a decoration entitled 'I Can Sing Choir' by Laura Kehoe, Ballyellis National School.

Laura made the winning decoration by using cardboard box and cans. Laura also secured the People's Choice Award where members of the public voted for their favourite decoration on display.

The Overall Group Winner was 6th class from CBS primary school in Wexford.

Their decoration entitled 'A Christmas Carousel - Hot Air Balloon Ride' was made from cardboard roll and bottle tops, old lightbulbs, cds, polystyrene packaging, coffee cups, plastic packaging and old vitamin bottles.

Other winning decorations included 'Rudolph' by Eoin Mernagh from Junior Infants, St Garvan's National School, Caroreigh; 'Soap Pump Reindeer' by Aoife Doyle, Senior Infants, Danescastle National School; 'Angel' by Daragh Sheehan, 1st Class, Screen National School; 'Rudolph' by Lexi Murphy, Screen National School, 2nd class; 'Christmas Tree' by Gabija Bielyte, 3rd class, CBS Primary School, Wexford; 'Snowy Night Advent Calendar by Laila Holmes, 4th class, Crannford National School; 'Agnes Angel' by Agneiszka Michqlik, St Fintan's NS, Taghmon, 5th class and 'Rudolph and Santa' by Liam Dempsey, CBS Primary School, Wexford, 6th class.

Primary school group categories winners included 'A Shoely Magical Christmas' by Jonathan and Laurence Banville, St Garvan's National School, Careoigh; 'Emojii Christmas' by Caragh McDonald, Clodagh Crean, Niamh English and Maeve O'Neill, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; 'Christmas Fun by Robyn O' Connor and Olivia Garnett, Scoil Mhuire, Barntown and 'Sing Choir of Angels' by Erin and Elese Doyle, Ballyduff National School.

The adult winner was Isobel English with Santa's Letter Box.

Other winners were: Ciara Walsh, Mercy School, Wexford; Patryk Filipiak, Kilmyshal National School; Katie O'Byrne, Scoil Mhuire Barntown; Eoin English, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; Niamh O' Connor, St. Fintan's, Taghmon; Alma Szaszvarosi, Monageer NS; Bonnie Butler, Ballyellis NS; Ethan O'Byrne, Scoil Mhuire Barntown; Aoibhann McDonald, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; Pauraic Doran, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; Phoebe Scanlon, Danescastle NS; Martin Kehoe, Ballyellis NS; Sara Welna, Mercy School Wexford; Ben Allen, St. Mary's N.S. Enniscorthy; Ethan Allen, Scoil Mhuire Rosslare; Harry Murphy, Kilrane N.S; Luke Tobin, Scoil Mhuire Rosslare; Alex Doyle, Glenbrien NS; Ross Cowman, Mercy School Wexford; Liam Stafford, Monageer National School; Illeanna Egan, Ballycullane National School; Marina Lowney Loring, St. Patricks National School Crossabeg; Michelle Murphy, Ballyduff National School; Conor Doyle, St. Fintan's N.S. Taghmon; Holly Ann Sweeney, Scoil Mhuire Barntown; Aoibheann Quirke, Kilrane N.S.; Amelia Swiellzzyynsica, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; Grainne Kelly, St. Garvan's N.S. Carrowreigh; Holly Spencer, Gorey Central National School; Maya Kavanagh, Ballyellis National School; Sean O'Leary, Screen N.S; Jamie Cunniffe, Monageer National School; Daniel McRedmond, Scoil Mochua Oulart; Lucy Millar, Glenbrien National School; Sarah Komsa, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; Ciara Enright, Scoil Mhuire Barntown; Jessie McGrath, Scoil Mhuire Horeswood; Siofra Byrne, Ballythomas N.S.; Abbey Murphy, Kilmyshall N.S.; Holly Rothwell, St. Mary's N.S. Enniscorthy; Erin Doyle, Ballyduff National School; Luke Byrne, Castledockerell National School; Ellen Dobson, Kilmyshall N.S.; Leila Ernot McCormack, Kilrane N.S.; Caragh McDonald, Niamh English, Maeve O'Neill and Clodagh Crean, Scoil Naomh Abbain, Adamstown; Robyn O'Connor and Olivia Garnett, Scoil Mhuire Barntown; Erin and Elese Doyle, Ballyduff National School; Michelle Doyle and Evelyn Duggan.

Gorey Guardian