Monday 10 December 2018

Great praise for Creagh College students at awards event

At the sixth year awards: Footballer of the Year Eoghan Haugh,Ladies’Footballer of the Year Teighlour Fegan and Hurler of the Year Ross Cody
At the sixth year awards: Footballer of the Year Eoghan Haugh,Ladies’Footballer of the Year Teighlour Fegan and Hurler of the Year Ross Cody
Music Students of the Year Adam du Plessis, Jirat O’Neil and Donna Gardiner

Sara Gahan

As another school year came to a close last week at Creagh College, Gorey, students' achievements and excellence were recognised.

Acting principal Declan O'Toole congratulated all the recipients and gave a motivational speech at each of the three ceremonies - Transition Year Graduation, Sixth Year Graduation, and Overall School Awards, which were spread across the school week.

More than 200 students received an award in various subjects and extra-curricula activities. The hard work by the outgoing Student Council was recognised and the Digital Leaders for next year was announced. Twelve lucky students also received scholarships to the Gaeltacht.

The Spirit of Creagh Award is very prestigious and is given to a student from each year group who has embraced every aspect of school life and enhanced the positive atmosphere everyday. The Student of the Year Award is given to each year group who has excelled academically all year and set an example to others by their motivation and hard work.

Special guests at the award ceremonies included CE of WWETB Kevin Lewis, senior county hurler Paudie Foley, chairperson of the board Malcolm Byrne, board of management member Fionntán Ó Súilleabháin, and parents' council members Karen O'Reilly and Mary Sheehy.


Sixth Year Awards: Perpetual Trophies: Head Prefect - Toby Falconer; Spirit of the Year - Eoin Fitzpatrick; Student of the Year - Christopher Staunton; Music Student of the Year - Jai Popplewell; Construction Studies - Cian Kelly.

Sports Awards: Ladies Football - Teighlour; Senior Football - Eoghan Haugh; Senior Hurler - Ross Cody; Basketball - James Shannon; Soccer - Ryan Lewis.

Transition Year Awards: Portfolio Awards: Runners-up - Marta Alonsa Fernandez, Lauren Kavanagh and Sarah Kennedy; Best Portfolios - Paige Kintsch Nolan, Sinead Barnes and Aoife O'Neill.

Spirit of Transition Year - Caitlin Falconer, Claudia D'Arcy, and Casey Kintsch Nolan.

Student of the Year - Sam Walsh.

Student of the Year Awards: First Year - Niamh Fitzpatrick; Second Year - Alain Gordet; Third Year - Aoife Byrne; Fifth Year - Aoife Carroll.

Spirit of the Year Awards: First Year - Sasha Greene; Second Year - Sarah Bergin; Third Year - James Keys; Fifth Year - Niamh Laffan.

Most Improved Gaelic Footballer - Jake Cassidy; Under-14 GAA Player of the Year - Josh Twyford; Most Improved GAA Player - Jake Kenny O'Leary; Most Improved Male Soccer Player - Ralf Marcus Parn; Most Improved Female Soccer Player - Chloe Tobin; Soccer Player of the Year - Luke Leavy, Alex Lynch

Gorey Guardian