Saturday 21 July 2018

Outstanding Colaiste Bhride Carnew students receive special awards

Sara Gahan

Last year's Leaving Certificate class from Colaiste Bhride Carnew have been presented with special awards to mark their academic achievements.

The annual Leaving Certificate Presentation dinner was hosted by the parents' council in the Ashdown Park Hotel last week.

Principal of Colaiste Bhride Linda Dunne welcomed everyone and encouraged the class of 2017 to 'embrace their new beginnings and to wrap themselves in optimism and positivity as they start this new stage of their lives'.

Guest of honour Patricia O'Keefe, who is a past student and current deputy principal at Pearse College of Further Education in Crumlin, reflected on her own educational journey and emphasised the importance of appreciating the support of those around them and to find a way around challenges. Ms O'Keefe congratulated the parents for getting their sons and daughters to this stage in their lives.

Awards: Chemistry - Emer Rose Kealy and Pearl Lancaster; Biology - Ann Marie Doyle and Alex Lach; Accounting - Emer Rose Kealy; Technology - Conor Byrne; Maths - Emer Rose Kealy, Conor Byrne and Ann Marie Doyle; Physics - Conor Byrne and Natasha Byrne; Construction - Charlotte Redmond and Krystian Jakobczak; English - James Gregan and Pearl Lancaster; Irish - Ann Marie Doyle; Business - Justyne Lawless; Agricultural Science - Maria Byrne; Geography - Abbie Nugent; Foreign Language - Alex Lach; Technical Graphics - Padraic Redmond; Music - Rachel O'Keefe; Art - Ellen Walsh and James Stedmond; History - Rebecca Flemming; Engineering - Charlotte Redmond; Home Economics - Abbie Nugent and Dayna Lancaster; Economics - Ruth Berney; Sports - Robbie Brooks; Endeavour - Dearbhile Cullen and Cáil Kavanagh; Culture - Jacqui Whelan; Merit - Ella Doran and Ciara Kavanagh; LCA Vocational Education - Pauric Lawler; LCA General Education - Sam Crehan; LCA Endeavour - Patrick Whelan; Good Fellowship - Kali Thompson and Kristian Jakobczak; Exceptional Contribution to School - Finlay Power; Challenge - Harry Winterbothom; Students' Choice - Jason Byrne; LCA Student of the Year - Pauric Lawler; Student of the Year - Emer Rose Kealy.

Gorey Guardian