Monday 21 January 2019

Ballycullane ploughmen work ground for 60th year

Eamonn Murphy competing in the Horse Class
Eamonn Murphy competing in the Horse Class
Frank Cullen from St Leonards in the Under-28 Class
DJ Donnelly from Kilmuckridge competing in the Loy Class

Ballycullane Ploughing Association held their 60th annual ploughing match in Tintern recently on land kindly donated by the Tubritt Family.

The results were: 2/F Senior: 1st Seán Keating, 2nd Martin Kehoe, 3rd Eamonn Treacy. Under-28: 1st Frank Cullen, 2nd Tomás Cullen. Under-21: 1st Seán Kehoe, 2nd Thomas Devereux. Sen/Reversible: 1st Dan Donnelly, 2nd Declan Buttle, 3rd Paul Keating. Under-28 Reversible: 1st Eric Wickham, 2nd Stephen Whelan; Stan/Reversible: 1st Noel Byrne. 2nd Francis Harney. Macra Class: 1st William Kehoe, 2nd Shane Caulfield. 3/4F Senior: 1st Billy Donnelly, 2nd Dickie Byrne, 3rd Martin Hanlon. Farmerette: 1st Karen Furlong. Vintage TVO: 1st James Barron, 2nd Séamus Byrne, 3rd Eamonn White. Vintage Classic: 1st Aidan O'Neill. 2nd John Moore. 3rd John Walsh. S/F Vintage: 1st Phil Jackman, David Levingstone, Nick Walshe. Vintage Trailer: 1st Willie Murphy, Jim Cullen, Seán Murphy; Horse Class: 1st Eamonn Murphy. Loy class: 1st DJ Donnelly.

Gorey Guardian