Fingal Independent

| 10°C Dublin

Was this the last meeting fans will see for months?

Will the Rockabill Grasstrack that was held on Sunday be the only event for a number of months?

With the current situation with the coronavirus, this could see a very short racing season. Following on from the Government statement and advice during the week, it is very hard to know how things are going to go, and what way that sport in general will go over the coming months.

The Coleraine club have announced that their advice from the health authorities in the North was to continue with preparations for the North West as the club normally start their course preparation towards the end of March, but with no word from either the MCI or the MCUI (UC) on their approach to the pandemic, we will have to wait and see how we are going to spend our racing summer.

There was a great entry for the Rockabill Grasstrack, which officially opened the racing season, and despite a few heavy showers there was some cracking racing in all classes.

It was great to see the quads back on the grass, despite a spectacular crash by top youth rider Tom Garry, who thankfully walked away from the incident, was in great form after it and went out and won his new Grade "B" class with some style!

Unfortunately I was unable to stay for the whole day, and I have been given the overall results by the club.

In the 65 class Robijs Depers took the overall win from John McCann and Kian Bruton, while in the 85 Big Wheel class Jamie Whelan took his first-ever overall win from Cian Smith and Ciaran Lally. In the 85 Small Wheel class it was great to see Gabriel Golturenko back out on the grass, and he took the overall win from Calvin Kelly and Eoghan Archer.

David Tutty took the entertaining Grade "A" class from Mervyn Griffin, with Michael Dunleavy third, while Carter Williams took the Auto class from Marek Janicki, with Oisin O'Callaghan third.

Eoghan Dunne beat Christopher Maypother in the Grade "B" MX2 class, with Adam O'Toole third, while up and coming rider Tom Garry continued from his rise from the Youths to take the Grade "B" MX1 class from Ryan Gaffney and Sean Whelan.

Ally Kearney also continued his great form from last season by taking the overall win in the Clubman's (even numbers), with Jack Duggan second and Joseph Clinton third. In the Clubman's (odd numbers) it was Patrick Morgan who took the win from Dwayne Long and Craig Maye.

In the Grade "C" MX1 Fortune Faoilean was the overall winner from Peter Williams and Ruari Dunne. Such was the large entry in the Grade "C" the club had to divide the entry into even and odd numbers.

In the even numbers it was Roa Geronimo who was the winner from Jack Bell and Jason Melia, and in the odd numbers it was Alex Hall from Jordan Clarke and Nathan Kirwan. David Tutty took his second overall victory in the Evo class, beating Liam Sinnott, with Fortune Faoilean third.

Wayne Kirwan took the Over-35s class from Dunny Daly and Paul Barron, while Jamie Bolger took the entertaining Quad class from Rachel Chambers and Daniel O'Keefe.

The Youth 125 class saw Alex Hall take the win from Corey Carey, with Rachel Fennan third, and in the Youth 250 it was Lee Darcy from Shane Organ and Matthew Wade.

Fingal Independent