Wednesday 22 May 2019

U-18s double up for Mals

Rugby, U-18 Metro Cup Final: Malahide 26 DLSP 17

Malahide Under-18s built on the promotion triumph achieved by their senior counterparts the day before when overcoming DLSP in the Metro Cup decider at Terenure RFC.

Just 24 hours after the club earned promotion to Division 2B of the All-Ireland League by beating Bruff in a play-off, Malahide's stars of the future completed a great double with this hard-fought win in a final which was played in good sporting spirit.

Malahide were out of the traps early with a well-worked a try set up by their pack - who were well marshalled by captain Timmy O'Connor - scored by centre Darragh Byrne and converted by Harry Nolan.

Malahide continued to dominate in the first quarter with the help of effective box kicking by scrum half Nolan, It resulted in a great team score following a series of 10 passes by forwards and backs, finished off by flying winger Jack Foley.

DLSP, who had accounted for the highly fancied Coolmine in their semi-final, fought back with a well-worked try before the break, resulting in Malahide leading narrowly at the break on a 12-7 scoreline.

In the second half the Fingal side took control, with their pack making strong surges, led by their strong back row trio of Joey Boland, Cormac Buckley and Shane O'Casey, while second rows Dylan Venner and Jack Kelly made a big impact and were dominant in the lineouts.

Malahide scored two further tries, shared by their strong-running, dynamic centre pairing of Tom Hogan and Byrne.

In the last 10 minutes DLSP produced a strong rally, scoring a converted try and a penalty, but Malahide defended well to prevent any further scores.

In particular, full back Alex Dawson and out half Conor Kennedy pulled off some notable tackles, while Jake Kelly, Joey Lee and captain O'Connor worked hard in the tight.

It proved to be a highly rewarding weekend for the team's hard-working coach Moro Morrin who, having starred the previous day for the senior team, made it a very successful season for this promising group of players who have been together as a unit from their mini rugby days.

Malahide: Tom Hogan, Cormac Buckley, Tiernan O'Connor, Darragh Byrne, Timmy O'Connor, Jack Foley, Conor Kennedy, Harry Nolan, Kevin Farrington, Ben Benton, Dylan Venner, Evan Phelan, Ewan Hasslet, Joey Scott Lee, Gabriel Akinwande, Luke Berkley, Shane O'Casey, Joey Boland, Jack Kelly, Aaron O'Reilly, Will Dillon, Oisin Power, Sean Jackland, Jake Kelly. Team coach: Morro Morrin; Team management Ed Hogan, Ray Nolan, Dave Morgan, Brendan Guilfoyle, Declan Berkley.

Fingal Independent