Monday 18 December 2017

Two Stroke stars rub shoulders at supporters' Annual Awards

THE Two Stroke Racing Supporters Club held their Annual Awards night last Saturday in a packed Ollie's Place in Skerries, and almost all the top Two Stroke riders were present to accept their awards.

William Dunlop was unable to attend due to commitments at the Bike Show in the NEC in Birmingham, but he asked Gary Ryan to accept his awards. After a long season, the riders were able to let their hair down, and that they did in style. The first of the awards presented on the night went to Baylon McCaughey, who was delighted to receive it for his services to the Two Stroke Club since the club started 10 years ago. The popular Cookstown photojournalist accepted the award from committee member Keith Costello. Sam Wilson impressed a lot of people this year with his stylish riding, and he was delighted to receive the Steve Ward Cup for his efforts during the season. Another of the special awards presented are the two Crystal trophies that were originally awarded for the 125 and 250 TT races that are now defunct, and the first award went to Sam Dunlop, with the other going to one of the top Two Stroke riders at the Manx Grand Prix, Brian Mateer. The Aubrey McCauley Memorial Cup was presented to Mark McNeilly as a special award at the Killalane Road Races. The best overseas award is the James Crompton Cup, and that was presented to Kevin Strowger, who travelled from Stoke to accept his award. The 125 Championship winner was Sam Wilson who received the Skinner Hughes Trophy from AJ Hughes, with the top 10 riders sharing a decent prize fund. Davy Morgan won the seasonlong battle with William Dunlop for the 250 Championship, and the Saintfield rider was delighted to accept his award, despite suffering from jetlag after his long trip home from the Macau Grand Prix. Davy was presented with the Gary Dynes trophy by Vivian Dynes, and his cheque by Donna Costello. Along with the Gary Dynes Cup, the third-place rider in the championship, Seamus Elliott, received the Andrew Neill Award, with second-place rider William Dunlop receiving the Mark Young Trophy that was presented to Gary Ryan by Alma and Neil Young. To cap off a great night, the ladies of the club - Donna Costello, Margaret Corry, Vivian Dynes, Michelle Wright and Yvonne Ward - were presented with bouquets of flowers by Joe Wright on behalf of the members. Despite the shortage of Two Strokes on the roads, the club intend to keep the championship going, and already they are planning for next season.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links