Saturday 16 December 2017

Top-class racing makes the dust fly

Ciaran Coyle (78) and Gerard Dulaghan almost collide during their great battle in the Grade
Ciaran Coyle (78) and Gerard Dulaghan almost collide during their great battle in the Grade "C" MX 2 race at the Milverton Grass Track. Photo Paul Woodlock.

Jack Corry - Corry Corner

The Milverton Off Road Club ran their third Open Grass track meeting of the year, on the hottest day of the year so far near Loughshinny, where the dust and flies were the main problem.

Don't get me wrong, it was a beautiful day, and great to see some terrific racing in brilliant sunshine.

There were plenty of high jinks, with numerous experienced riders getting caught out with the track that was watered a few times during the day to keep the dust down.

There were some of the best races provided by the very large entry that I have seen in a long time and right from the small 6 year old kids to the experienced adults, they performed their task in top-class style in front of a large crowd.

As usual there were three races for each class, with a total of 33 races held during the day, after each class had a practice session. The first races held under the new start lights system, saw the Autos take to the course.

In race one it was a cracking affair with Martin Pelaks taking the win from Robins Depers, with Alex Whearty holding off Cian Kenna for third, after being pushed wide at the start of the race, but recovering to take the last podium placing.

In race two it was Whearty who took a close win over Depers, with Pelaks recovering after slipping off while trying to pass Whearty, in third.

The final race saw both Whearty and Pelaks swap place throughout the five lap affair, but on the line it was Pelaks who took the flag from Whearty, with Depers third.

Overall it was Pelaks, from Whearty, Depers, with Scott Whelan fourth.

The over 40's provided another cracking set of races, and in race one it was Balbriggan rider Edward Russell who locked horns with Nigel Spendlove for the first three laps, but Russell squeezed past on the penultimate lap to take the win from Spendlove, with Matt Halpin third, and Robert Lee fourth.

Race two saw Russell get the holeshot, and while he was never headed, it was the battle behind between Matt Halpin and Robert Lee, that saw both riders cross the line together and they couldn't be separated by the judges. Wayne Kirwan was up to second in the early stage, but he crashed out, remounted and finished in a fine 4th place.

The final race saw Sean Smith lead for the first three laps from Russell, Leo Skelly and Ian Whearty, but he crashed out while dicing for the lead, leaving Russell in to take his hat trick, with Wayne Kirwan second, and Leo Skelly holding off Ian Whearty for third.

Overall it was Russell from Kirwan, with Matt Halpin third, and Robert Lee fourth.

Once more the Youth 125 and 250 saw the emerging talents shine in both classes.

In the 125 class Rush rider Sean Whelan scored a fine hat trick, with Evan Clarke second, Ciaran Coyle third and Alison Cahill fourth.

The 250's saw Gerard Dullaghan take the race one win from Brendan Ryan, who was just squeezed out on the final lap, with Jordan Clarke third and Dylan Cummins fourth.

Race two saw Jack Whearty get a better start and he passed Dullaghan with two laps to go to take a great win, with Brendan Ryan third, and Dylan Cummins fourth.

The final race was a repeat of race one for the first two, with Dullaghan taking the win from Brendan Ryan on the line, with Jack Whearty third and Dylan Cummins once more holding on to fourth.

Overall it was as they finished in the final race.

Simon Spendlove took the first race win in the Evo class, in what was the largest Evo class ever at the Milverton events, from Gareth Costello who led for the first two laps, with Brian Meade third and Killian Rafter fourth.

Race two saw Nathan Markey get a better start, as he was left at the start gate in race one, but managed to take a fine fifth place, but the brilliant teenager was never headed and beat Simon Spendlove, Killian Rafter and Brian Meade.

Spendlove crashed out in the final race and once more it was Markey who took the early lead, and was never headed, with Eamon O'Reilly getting his best result of the day in second, Dunny Daly took third, with Conor Plant fourth.

Overall it was Markey from Meade, with Daly third and O'Reilly 4th.

The 65cc class saw the easiest wins of the day, with Gabriel Golurentno obliterating the field to take all three wins by more than a half a lap in all races. The battle for the lower leader board places saw Fehin Sinnott take second, with Sam Thompson third and Aaron Kelly fourth.

The Milverton club were forced to introduce two new classes, Grade 'B' MX1 and MX2, such was the amount of entries in the Grade 'C' MX1 and MX2 classes, and this again provided great entertainment.

In the Grade 'B' MX1 it was Paul Ryan who took the first race win after a great battle with Wayne Kirwan, who stopped on lap three, but got going again to finish 4th, Ross Sheridan, and David Byrne took second and third.

In race two it was local rider David Byrne who took the win from a late charging Ryan, with Sheridan third, and Peter O'Flaherty fourth.

In the final race it was O'Flaherty who took the lead from Kirwan, Ryan and Sheridan, and as they quartet went out on the final lap, there was real drama, with O'Flaherty crashing out, Kirwan stopping and this left Byrne in to take the win from Ryan, with Eamon O'Reilly third and Sheridan fourth,.

Overall it was Ryan from Sheridan, Byrne and Leo Skelly. In the Grade 'B' MX2 class it was Bellewstown rider Andrew Whearty who took all three wins from Richard Hughes, Leo Brady and Ross Sheridan.

The 85 Small and Big Wheel were combined, and it was Jake Wall who took all three Small Wheel races from Jamie Whelan, with Thomas Dillon third, and Jake Thompson fourth.

Tom Garry rode three excellent races in the Big Wheel class, beating the much improved Shane Valentine, with Kirsten Zigalous third and Jasmine Bentley fourth.

David O'Donohue took the first two wins in the Grade 'C'MX1 class, from Joe Kenna and Ciaran Murphy, with Brendan Ryan, recovering from a terrible start, taking fourth.

Ryan suffered the same fate in all three races, and in fairness rode extremely well take two fourth places, but Kenna got revenge in the final race to take the win from O'Donohue, Tom O'Callaghan and Ryan, and overall it was O'Donohue, from Kenna, Murphy and O'Callaghan.

The Grade 'C' MX 2 saw Sean Whelan take his second hat trick of the day, but he had to work extremely hard for his overall victory, as he was pushed had to come from behind in all three races to take the wins, with Gerard Dullaghan taking second, Chris Maypother third and Atis Zigalous fourth.

Stephen McMahon scored his second hat trick of wins in the Grade 'A' class in as many events, but it was his experience in the class that came out on top, as he was pushed in the first two races by Carlow teenager Liam Sinnott, who is racing in the top class for the first season, and he led the first two races, only for McMahon to shine through at the end to take the overall win from Sinnott, with Richard Fanning third, and Nathan Markey fourth.

A cracking day's entertainment in glorious sunshine, and hopefully the next event on Sunday 25th June will be blessed with the same quality.

Keep 'er lit!

Fingal Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links