Wednesday 21 March 2018

Milverton hat-tricks all the rage

Tom Garry (number 44) and Sebastian Ryanhart in close company in the 85 big wheel class, where Garry took all three race wins. Photo Jayo Fleming
Tom Garry (number 44) and Sebastian Ryanhart in close company in the 85 big wheel class, where Garry took all three race wins. Photo Jayo Fleming
Mervyn Griffin shows clear determanation as he powers to three wins in the Grade "A" Class at the Milverton Clubs Stubble Championship. Photo Jayo Fleming

Jack Corry - Corry Corner

The Milverton Off Road Club's Stubble Championship round two took place on Sunday in Stamullen, and despite the damp start there was another great response, with 160 riders entered.

There was a number of hat-tricks scored during the day, with some cracking racing.

The first to go in the 36-race card was the Auto class, and it was the current champion Josh Hamilton who was once more top of the class with three straight wins. The battle for the runner-up saw three great races, and it was Martin Pelaks who edged out Robifs Pepers, with local lad Alex Whearty in fourth.

The Evo class saw Nathan Markey once more score a hat-trick of wins when he easily beat Eamon O'Reilly, who struggled with exhaust problems, with Conor Plant third and Chris Maypother fourth.

Andrew Nicholl was paying his first visit to the championship, and he duly took all three wins in the Pre 85 class, with Wesley Stockdale second and Ryan McMaster third.

Gabriels Goltureno once more dominated the 65cc class, lashing the opposition in all three races for the overall win, with Sam Thompson second, Fehin Sinnott third and Aaron Kelly fourth.

Once more the Youth 125 class saw three cracking races and in race one it was Evan Clarke from Evan Healy with Ciaran Coyle third and Sean Whelan fourth. Whelan took the race two win from Clarke, with Coyle third.

In the final race Clarke took the win, while Ciaran Coyle will be cursing his bad luck as he crashed out at the final bend while lying second - he was okay - and this let in Sean Whelan to take second, with Healy third and Owen Everard fourth. Overall it was Clarke from Whelan, with Coyle third and Everard fourth.

Jack Whearty took the first race win in the 250 Youth class from Stephen Dixon, with Dylan Cummins third and Robert Gray fourth.

In race two Whearty was leading but crashed out, allowing Gerard Dullaghan in to take his first win in a while, with Dylan Cummins second, Stephen Dixon third and Jordan Clarke fourth.

The red flag came out on lap one of the third race after Stephen Dixon crashed out, and he was transferred to hospital with a knee injury. Whearty dominated the re-run, with Dylan Cummins second, Dullaghan third and Jordan Clarke fourth. Overall it was Cummins from Dullaghan, with Clarke third and Robert Gray fourth.

Once more the Clubman's class was oversubscribed and again it provided great entertainment. Local rider Benny Whearty took the win in race one from road racer Jason Cash, with Thomas Hogan third and Paul Rock fourth.

In race two Cash took a closely fought win over Whearty, with Rock third and Stephen Gorman fourth.

In the final race Cash and Whearty were locked together for the first two laps, but Cash squeezed ahead to lead to the flag, while the race behind him saw Stephen Gorman just pip Whearty on the line for second, with Paddy Bradley fourth. Overall it was Cash from Whearty, with Gorman just edging out Thomas Hogan for third.

Another road racer making a rare appearance was James Kelly who took the first race win in the Grade "B" MX 1 class, from Eamon O'Reilly, David Byrne and Wayne Kirwan.

In race two Kelly led until the final gate where he crashed out, allowing David Byrne in for the win from a re-mounted Kelly, with Francis Fanning fourth.

Shane Sweeney had a nasty crash in race one, but he took control of the final race, with Kirwan second, Kelly, who got a loan of a bike from Ciaran Coyle, taking third and David Byrne in fourth. Overall it was Kelly from Byrne, with O'Reilly just ahead of Kirwan for third.

There were three excellent races in the Grade "B" MX2 class, with Andrew Whearty edging out Fergal McArdle in race one, with Lee Brady third and Paul Barron fourth. In race two Brady crossed the line first from McArdle and Richard Hughes, and in the final race it was Whearty who pipped Lee Brady for the win, with McArdle third and Richard Hughes in fourth.

Overall it was Brady from McArdle, with Whearty third and Hughes fourth.

Tom Garry returned to fine form to take all three wins from in-form rider Shane Valentine in the 85 Big Wheel class, with Sebastian Ryanhart third and Jasmin Bentley fourth.

Luke Stockdale was making his first visit to the Milverton event and he duly took the win in the 85 Small Wheel class race one, but Jake Wall, who finished second in the first race, took the remaining wins. Overall it was Wall from Jake Cunningham, with Jamie Whelan third and Adam Clooney fourth.

Like the last championship event, the Over 40s class saw David Tutty and Alan Dennis lock horns in all three races. Tutty got the better of Dennis in the first two, but again like the first round, Dennis eventually got the win in the final race from Tutty. Overall it was Tutty from Dennis, with Wayne Kirwan third and Robert Lee fourth.

Ryan McMaster took all three wins in the Grade "C"MX1 class, with Colin Keating edging out Mark Stephenson and Ian Whearty for the remaining places on the leaderboard.

Mervyn Griffin continued his domination of the Grade "A" Class, taking all three wins.

In race one he beat Nathan Markey, Richard Fanning and Stephen McMahon. In race two David Tutty was the runner-up, with McMahon third and Fanning fourth. McMahon was the runner-up in the final race after a great scrap with Richard Fanning and David Tutty. Overall it was Griffin from McMahon, with Fanning third and Tutty fourth.

Sean Whelan took all three wins in the Grade "C" MX2 class, but Conor Plant pushed him all the way and in race two crashed out in the pursuit, remounting to finish second. Overall it was Whelan from Plant, with Martin Whearty third and Gerard Dullaghan fourth.

The third round of the championship will take place in a different field in Stamullen on Sunday September 24th.

Once more it was an entertaining day, and I have been asked to announce that an egm of the club will take place in the Milestone Inn in Balbriggan next Monday at 8.30pm. All members are asked to attend.

East Coast Festival revs up

The East Coast Racing Festival takes place this Saturday and Sunday 9/10th September over the course that was known as the Killalane Road Races. Roads close on Saturday at 1pm, and reopen no later than 7pm. On Sunday they close at 10am, reopening no later than 6.30pm. Admission is €20.

Bonner night

A memorial night in aid of the late Alan Bonner will take place on Saturday November 4th in the CityNorth Hotel, starting at 7.30pm with admission at €15.

There will be a chat show with top road racers, as well as live music, a DJ, a raffle and auction. There is a Facebook page set up that will show where tickets can be purchased and there will be a number of outlets where the tickets will be available.

Karen is the contact at 089-2036664. A spokesman said: 'We are trying to encourage people to buy in advance rather than on the night, as there is a limit on the total people for the room on the night.'

I will have more details in the next few weeks.


The Two Stroke Supporters Club will hold their fund-raising night in Ollies Place this Saturday, starting at 9pm. Admission is €10 at the door, and there will be a DJ and the usual raffle.

Fingal Independent