Monday 23 October 2017

Leinster Cup Final defeat is 'Tarf to take for Malahide

PJ Murray

MALAHIDE will be trying to stay positive this week and focusing on their push for promotion after coming up just short in Saturday's Leinster Senior Cup Final against Clontarf at Milverton.

The Division 2 side fell 44 runs short of the 216 target set by Clontarf who now possess both major knockout trophies, having won the All-Ireland competition last autumn.

Despite five wickets by Peter Saville, Clontarf still managed a competitive total, one which ultimately proved too much.

On a crisp morning in Skerries, Clontarf won the toss and chose to bat and that decision looked questionable early on as Saville did some serious damage with a 4-17 spell with the new ball.

Clontarf looked rattled and the underdogs seemed to be on top, but then a middle order dig-in had Mals stumped as 'Tarf accelerated to 174-6 after 49 overs. Callum Riches, Reinhardt Strydom and Peter Chase all got among the wickets in the latter stages of the Clontarf innings, but not before they had set a tough target of 216.

After the changeover Strydom and Fintan McAllister began the chase in their usual fine style. McAllister's cup run this year has included scores of 53, 57 and 106 - an uncanny echo of the RSA National Cup campaign last season when he made 59, 67 and 63 on the way to a final-winning innings of 163 not out.

However, he wasn't quite so successful on this occasion, having to settle for a contribution of 36 runs, while Strydom dug in for a belligerent 48.

Jim Govan and George Deans both failed to make any impact as they were dismissed quickly, but captain Riches then stepped in to the crease and steadied things before he was taken lbw for 26.

Coming in at nine, Alessandro Morris showed some real grit in attempting to get his side back into the game, but he was ultimately caught for 24 off 23 balls and with his wicket went Malahide's realistic hopes as they were eventually bowled out for 171 in the 53rd over.

Malahide: Reindhart Strydom, Fintan McAllister, Jim Govan, David Arnold, Callum Richies, George Deans, Alan Reynolds, Alessandro Morris, Peter Chase, Peter Saville, Cameron Shoebridge.

Fingal Independent