Wednesday 22 January 2020

Under-20s stunned by last-gasp Meath goal

John Kerins Cup: Meath 2-13 Dublin 2-11

Rory Kerr

Last year's beaten All-Ireland Under-20 finalists Dublin went down by a two-point margin in Saturday's John Kerins Cup group 1 opener in Dunganny.

Meath had started well with opening points from Cian Rogers and Aaron Lynch, but Dublin took up the reins after that with goals from Ciaran McKeown and Skerries Harps clubman Ciaran Murphy.

And with Murphy's clubmates Killian McGinnis and Adan Fearon also featuring well, Dublin had moved into a 2-8 to 0-4 lead before Jordan Morris struck with an injury-time goal to cut the visitors' lead to seven points at the mid-way point of the game.

The second half saw Dublin make wholesale changes to their starting 15 which included last year's Under-20 Player of the Year Ciaran Archer. However, it was Meath who drove on, out-scoring the visitors by eight points to one, with Luke Mitchell making an impact off the bench.

Nonetheless, Dublin remained a threat, with Eoin Griffin having to pull off a number of important saves. These would prove vital and by the 57th minute Meath had drawn level at 1-12 to 1-9 following scores from Micheal Gavin, Lynch (0-1), Morris (0-2) and Mitchell (0-3).

And while Dublin would cancel out an effort from Daithi McGowan, Meath would grab the decisive score of the game when substitute Dylan Keating struck deep into injury time.

Next up for Dublin is an away trip to Kildare in Hawfield next Saturday at 2pm. The Lillywhites were 2-17 to 1-7 winners over Laois at the weekend, with Shane O'Sullivan hitting eight points for the visitors.

Their goals were scored by James Behan and Adam Steed, one in each half.

Dublin complete the group stage with a home game against Laois on January 18th and the group winners will play the winners of group 2 which features Kerry, Cork and Galway.

MEATH: Eoin Griffin; Sean Bannon, Sean Ryan, James O'Hare; Cathal Hickey, Liam Byrne, Conal Courtney; Michael Gavin 0-1, Adam Reilly; Daithi McGowan 0-1, Cian Rogers 0-1, Paddy Matthews; Jordan Morris 1-3, Aaron Lynch 0-4, Jack Flynn. Subs: Finn Harford, Alan Mulvaney, Ben Wyer, Brian McCormack, Colm Doherty, Conor Brady, Darragh Swaine, Dylan Keating 1-0, Dylan Garrigan, Eimhin Power, Jack McMahon, Joe Moore, Keith Curtis, Luke Mitchell 0-3.

Fingal Independent